Emergency Unemployment Compensation 2008 (EUC08) and Federal-State Extended Benefit (EB) Summary data for State Programs

In order to simplify the process of posting state revisions to prior data, and allow potential data users the broadest possible access to the underlying information, EUC and EB administrative data are now published in two formats. The first format is a spreadsheet that shows state data by month, national data by month and cumulative data by state. In addition, we have also provided delimited ASCII files of the state data by month so that users who want to produce customized visualizations or metrics are able to do so. Supporting information describing the format of the ASCII files has been provided. If you have questions, comments or concerns regarding these files, or the underlying data, please send an email to UI-Reports@uis.doleta.gov.

EUC Aggregate Program Activity

EB Monthly Program Activity

ARRA Funded Program Activity

Please note that due to federal reporting requirements, we are now reporting Emergency Unemployment Compensation 2008 (EUC08) program activity in two different ways. In the links immediate above, we report all claimant activity by tier from the inception of the program in July, 2008.

The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) modified the EUC08 program by funding benefits paid from April 1, 2009 onward from general revenues, not from FUTA. To be as transparent as possible concerning the use of these funds, we have attempted to show those EUC08 activities that are funded through general revenue due to ARRA. This affects those claimants who begin receiving EUC08 benefits on or after April 1, 2009. We report this specific activity below under the heading "ARRA funded program activity".

Emergency Unemployment Compensation 2008 (EUC08)

EUC08 is an emergency federal benefits program that is payable to individuals who (1) have exhausted all rights to regular compensation with respect to a benefit year that ended on or after May 1, 2007; and (2) have no rights to regular compensation or extended benefits (EB); and (3) are not receiving compensation under the unemployment compensation law of Canada. To qualify for EUC, individuals must have had a minimum employment of 20 weeks of work, or the equivalent in wages, in their base periods.

EUC08 is administered through voluntary agreements between states and the U.S. Department of Labor (the Department). EUC08 is payable in a state the week following the week in which an agreement is signed. In most states, where the week of unemployment ends on Saturday, the first week for which EUC08 may be paid is the week ending July 12, 2008.

EUC08 First Tier (Tier 1)

The EUC08 program, signed into law on June 30, 2008, provides up to 13 weeks of 100 percent federally-financed compensation to eligible individuals in all states. Public Law (P.L.) 110-449 expanded the EUC08 program on November 21, 2008 to provide up to 20 weeks of 100 percent federally-funded unemployment compensation to eligible individuals in all states.

EUC08 Second Tier (Tier 2)

Public Law (P.L.) 110-449 originally expanded the EUC08 program by providing a second tier of benefits of up to 13 weeks for eligible individuals in those states with high unemployment. This tier has since been modified (see immediately below) from 13 to 14 weeks and is eligible to claimants in all states without regard to the state unemployment rate.

EUC08 Third and Fourth Tier (Tiers 3 & 4)

Public Law No. 111-92, enacted on November 6, 2009, expanded the EUC08 program, for weeks of unemployment beginning after November 6, 2009, in the following ways:

  • It increased the maximum EUC08 Second-Tier entitlement from 13 weeks to 14 weeks of benefits in all states, and this Tier is no longer triggered on by a state reaching a specified rate of unemployment;
  • It created an EUC08 Third-Tier providing up to 13 additional weeks of benefits (for a total of up to 47 weeks of EUC08) in states with a 13-week insured unemployment rate of at least 4 percent or a three-month average total unemployment rate of at least 6 percent;
  • It created an EUC08 Fourth-Tier providing up to 6 additional weeks of benefits (for a total of up to 53 weeks of EUC08) in states with a 13-week insured unemployment rate of at least 6 percent or a three-month average total unemployment rate of at least 8.5 percent.

Federal-State Extended Benefits (EB)

Extended Benefits are available to workers who have exhausted their regular program and EUC08 unemployment insurance benefits and during periods of high unemployment. The basic Extended Benefits program provides up to 13 additional weeks of benefits when a State is experiencing high unemployment. Some States have also enacted a voluntary program to pay up to 7 additional weeks (20 weeks maximum) of Extended Benefits during periods of extremely high unemployment. Extended Benefits may start after an individual exhausts other unemployment insurance benefits (not including Disaster Unemployment Assistance or Trade Readjustment Allowances). Not everyone who qualified for regular benefits qualifies for Extended Benefits. The State agency will advise you of your eligibility for Extended Benefits. The weekly benefit amount of Extended Benefits is the same as the individual received for regular unemployment compensation. The total amount of Extended Benefits that an individual could receive may be fewer than 13 weeks (or fewer than 20 weeks).

ARRA Funded EUC08 benefits

Some benefits paid within the EUC08 program are ARRA reportable and some are not.
ARRA funded 100% of EUC08 program benefits for:

  • Claimants who were not eligible for EUC08 benefits under Title IV of the Supplemental Appropriations Act, 2008 and the Unemployment Compensation Extension Act, Public Law 110-449 (that is, claimants who became eligible under the amendments made by the ARRA of 2009),
  • Second-Tier EUC08 benefits for those claimants exhausting First-Tier EUC08 after March 31, 2009 and establishing Second-Tier eligibility after that date
  • All First Tier and the first 13 weeks of Second Tier benefits paid for all claimants for weeks of unemployment beginning after August 27, 2009.

ARRA does not fund EUC08 program benefits for any entitlement flowing from the most recent expansion of the program including

  • the 14th week of Tier 2
  • Tier Three activity
  • Tier Four activity.