CHAPTER 3

MONETARY ENTITLEMENT

IN GENERAL

This chapter deals with the monetary requirements of state UI laws, including work history, benefit
amounts, and the length of time during which a worker may receive Ul

Although the states have developed many different ways to determine monetary entitlement to UI, there
are also many similarities. This chapter discusses the following:

o The wages and employment needed in a “base period” to qualify.

o The period during which UI may be collected, commonly called the “benefit year.”
o The amount payable for a week of total or partial unemployment.

» Dependents allowances.

«  Waiting periods.

o The maximum amount of regular Ul which a worker may receive in a benefit year.

Note: Information regarding deductible income provisions are located in the nonmonetary
eligibility chapter starting on page 5-34.

While most workers are employed in the state that they live in, many workers regularly commute to a
different state to work, work in more than one state, or move to a different state to look for new work when they
become unemployed. The law of the state under which the worker claims Ul benefits applies as it would for any
other worker. Determinations on eligibility, disqualifications, and the amount and duration of benefits are made
by the state in which the wages were paid. However, the process by which these workers apply for UI benefits
may vary. (For example, the Interstate Benefit Payment Plan provides a method of filing for UI benefits in the
state in which a worker has qualifying wages even though the worker is not physically present in that state.)

Although this chapter analyzes monetary factors separately, the relationship between these factors is
complex. In comparing state laws, consideration often needs to be given to these relationships.

BASE PERIOD AND BENEFIT YEAR

As stated above, a worker's benefit rights are determined using wages and employment during a period
of time called the base period. Benefits may be paid during a period of time called the benefit year. Workers
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who exhaust their benefits before the end of a benefit year must wait until a new benefit year is established
before they can again draw benefits.

BENEFIT YEARS—The benefit year is a 1-year or 52-week period during which a worker may receive
benefits based on a previous period of employment. In all states, the beginning date of the benefit year depends
on when a worker first files a “valid claim,” meaning the worker meets minimal wage and employment
requirements. In most states, the benefit year begins with the week in which the valid claim is filed. Exceptions
are:

TABLE 3-1: WHEN BENEFIT YEAR BEGINS - OTHER THAN THE WEEK A FIRST CLAIM IS FILED

AR Benefit year begins with the first day of the quarter in which a claim is first filed. As a result, the benefit “year” ranges from
40 to 52 weeks.
NY Benefit year consists of 53 weeks beginning with the effective date of a valid claim.

BASE PERIODS—The base period is the time period during which wages earned and/or hours/weeks worked
are examined to determine a worker’s monetary entitlement to UL. Almost all states use the first 4 of the last 5
completed calendar quarters preceding the filing of the claim as their base period. (Although Nebraska has no
law provisions on this matter, its regulations establish its base period as the first 4 of the last 5 completed
calendar quarters.) Massachusetts uses the four completed calendar quarters preceding the first day of the
benefit year. Minnesota uses the last four completed calendar quarters provided the effective date of the claim is
not during the month immediately following the forth completed calendar quarter.

Because base period employment and/or earnings are an imperfect proxy for labor market attachment,
there are instances when workers with labor market attachment are ineligible for UI benefits. To address this,
some states developed expanded definitions of the base period.

Alternative Base Periods (ABP)—A base period consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar
quarters results in a lag of up to 6 months between the end of the base period and the date a worker becomes
unemployed/files a claim. As a result, the worker’s most recent work history is not used when making an
eligibility determination. As a result, several states use an ABP for workers failing to qualify under the regular
base period. For example, if the worker fails to qualify using wages and employment in the first 4 of the last 5
completed calendar quarters, then the state will use wages and employment in the last 4 completed calendar
quarters.

Extended Base Periods (EBP)—Several states allow workers who have no wages in the current base period to
use older wages and employment under certain conditions. These conditions typically involve illness or injury.
For example, a worker who was injured on the job and who has collected workers’ compensation benefits may
use wages and employment preceding the date of the worker’s injury to establish eligibility. (Note that some
state laws may describe these base periods as “alternative” base periods.)

The following table outlines the options in addition to the standard base period that states use.

TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
AK | EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if claimant was AR | EBP: Up to 4 quarters if worker has insufficient wages to
incapable of working during the greater part of a establish a claim because of a job-related injury for which the
quarter worker received worker’s compensation
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters following previous BP
when new BY overlaps preceding BY; also, first 4 of

AZ last 5 cornplet.ed quafcer.s p receding the week a CA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters'
compensable industrial injury began if not qualified
under normal base period, if claim is filed within 2
years of beginning of disability

ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
CO | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters CT
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding sickness or disability.

DE | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters DC | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters

GA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters HI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters APB: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: A worker who experienced a temporary total ] . . .

ID disability may elect a BP of the first 4 of the last 5 IL EBP: BP extendgd up to L year if the clau’nant recelvgd
completed quarters preceding the disability if the tempora.ry tota! disability under a workers’ compensation act or
worker filed a claim within 3 years of the disability and occupational discases act
no longer than 6 months after the end of the disability

ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
IN 5]35(2;'&3;5;{)E}u?;tjvrgrirecwmg the last day the 1A EBP: BP extended 3 or more quarters if the worker received
workers’ compensation or weekly indemnity insurance benefits
for 3 or more quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters, if a worker due to job-related

KS KY injury or if a worker who has received workers’ compensation
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding the date of files a Ul claim within 4 weeks after having received workers’
qualifying injury” compensation

. ABP: Last 3 quarters, plus any weeks of work in quarter in
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters which claim is filed. (Worker may also elect to use this ABP if it
. o . .

ME EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if 1 quarter has MA results ina 10% or more increase in WBA)

been used in a previous determination, extend the BY . . .

. . . EBP: BP extended to 52 weeks if claimant received

up to 1 week if there would otherwise be overlapping . L ,

of the same quarter in 2 consecutive BPs compensat%on for temporary total dlsablhty under a workers
compensation law for more than 7 weeks in BP
ABP: First 4 of last 5 completed quarters’

MI ﬁle}eliz Lljlsi;‘élirfoaz leetercé q;?;ﬁresnltl;mdwldual fails to MN | EBP: Up to 4 quarters depending on length of time a worker
d ying wagereq received compensation for temporary disability under a workers’

compensation law

ABP: Last 4 completed quarters ABP: Last 4 completed quarters

MT | EBP: Up to 4 quarters preceding the disability if the NV EBP: Last 4 quarters preceding BY if 1 quarter has been used in
clairr‘l was filed within 24 months from the date of the a previous determination, extend the BY up to 1 week if there
worker’s disabilit would otherwise be overlapping of the same quarter in 2

Y consecutive BPs
ABP: BP may be one of two alternatives: (1) last 4 completed
NH | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters NJ quarters or (2) last 3 completed quarters, plus any weeks of work
in quarter in which claim is filed
NM | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters NY | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: Up to 4 quarters, if worker has insufficient

NC | wages to establish a claim because of a job related OH | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
injury for which the worker received workers’
compensation
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if the worker is disabled for

OK OR the majority of a quarter. If the worker received worker’s

EBP: 4 quarters prior to regular base period

compensation, the base year can be extended up to 4 quarters
preceding the illness or injury
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP

ABP: Last completed quarters

EBP: Last 4 completed quarters immediately
preceding the date of the injury if the worker was EBP: Worker who received workers’ compensation and has

A ) . . , RI . . o
eligible for workers’ compensation during the worker’s requested reinstatement to a previous position that no longer
current BP exists is eligible to have base period determined as of the date of
the work related injury

PA

ABP: Last 4 completed quarters

EBP: Worker who received temporary total disability
SD | payments under a workers’ compensation law may use TN' | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
a BP of the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters
preceding the disability, if a claim is filed within 24
months of the date the disability was incurred

EBP: First 4 of last 5 completed quarters prior to date of

EBP: Ifan initial claim is filed within 24 months from illness/injury. Worker must have received temporary disability

the date a workers’ illness or injury began or occurred,

X the BP will be the first 4 of the last 5 completed UT | payments during normal BP, ﬁle.d 1p1t1al claim no l.ater .than 90
. . . days after release to work and within 36 months injury/illness
quarters preceding the illness or injury oceurred
ABP: One of two alternatives: (1) last 4 quarters or, if still
VA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters VT | ineligible, (2) last 3 quarters plus any weeks of work in quarter in
which claim is filed
WA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters WV | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters®

EBP: A worker who experienced a temporary total disability
under Workers’” Compensation may elect a BP of the last 4
WI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters WY [ completed quarters preceding the date of injury if the worker
filed a claim within 3 years of the date of injury and no longer
than 60 days after notice of the end of the disability

GENERAL NOTE: Information about various base periods used in MA and MN is located in paragraphs preceding this table.

'In CA, ABP effective for new claims filed on or after April 13,2011; In TN, ABP effective no later than June 25, 2010.

2 Not implemented as of publication date.

3If the claim has an effective date during the month immediately following the last completed calendar quarter the base period is the first 4 of
the last 5 completed calendar quarters; however, the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters must be used if the claimant has more
wage credits in those quarters than in the last 4 completed quarters.

*To be eligible under ABP must have total BPW of at least $2,200, and wage in at least 2 quarters.

QUALIFYING WAGES OR EMPLOYMENT

All states require a worker to have earned a certain amount of wages or to have worked for a certain
period of time (or both) within the base period to be monetarily eligible to receive any Ul benefits. Most
workers qualify for benefits based on employment and wages in a single state. However, some workers who
work in more than one state will not have sufficient employment and wages in any single state to establish
monetary eligibility, or would be eligible for a smaller weekly benefit amount. Workers with employment and
wages in more than one state can elect to file a claim combining employment and wages earned in all states
where they worked into a claim filed under the law of one of the states in which they worked. The “paying
state” for a combined wage claim combines all base period employment and wages earned under its law with
employment and wages transferred from other states to determine the worker’s monetary eligibility under its
law. For example, if the worker has earned wages in Illinois and Indiana, the worker may elect to file a
combined wage claim using I[llinois’ law. Because of the potential of establishing more than one benefit year in
more than one state, Federal regulations stipulate that employment and wages transferred from one state to a
second state for use in establishing a combined wage claim in that second “paying” state cannot be used again to
establish monetary eligibility. The methods that states use to determine monetary eligibility vary greatly, as
described below.

Multiple of High-Quarter Wages—Under this method, workers must earn a certain dollar amount in the
quarter with the highest earnings of their base period. Workers must also earn total base-period wages that are a
multiple—typically 1.5 of the high quarter wages. For example, if a worker earns $5,000 in the high quarter, the
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worker must earn another $2,500 in the rest of the base period. States require earnings in more than one quarter
to minimize the likelihood that workers with high earnings in only one quarter receive benefits. Although
monetarily eligible, those workers wouldn’t be substantially attached to the labor market.

Multiple of Weekly Benefit Amount—Under this method, the state first computes the worker’s weekly benefit

amount. The worker must have earned a multiple—often 40—of this amount during the base period. For

example, if a worker’s weekly benefit amount equals $100, then the worker will need base period earnings of 40
times $100—or $4,000-before any UI would be paid. Most states also require wages in at least two quarters.
Some states have weighted schedules that require varying multiples for varying weekly benefits.

Flat Qualifying Amount—States using this method require a certain dollar amount of total wages to be earned
during the base period. This method is used by most states with an annual-wage requirement for determining

the weekly benefit and by some states with a high-quarter-wage/weekly benefit requirement.

Weeks/Hours of Employment—Under this method, the worker must have worked a certain number of

weeks/hours at a certain weekly/hourly wage.

The following table provides information on the qualifying formulas used by the states and the minimum wages
needed to qualify for Ul in each state.

TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed

State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment T JO Qualify:
g Base Period
Quarter
AL 15 x HQW in BP and qualifies for at least the minimum WBA >$1,157 >$2,314
’ (in 2 HQs)
AK $2,500 flat amount and wages in 2 quarters of BP $2,500
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter
AZ or alternative: flat-amount requirement: wages in 2 quarters of BP, wages in 1 quarter sufficient $1,500 $2,250
to qualify for the maximum WBA and total BPW > the taxable wage base ($7,000)
AR 27 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters of BP $2,133
$1,300 in HQ
A or alternative: $900 in HQ with BPW = 1% x HQ $900 $1,125
. . . $1,084
CO 40 x WBA or $2,500 in BP, whichever is greater (in 2 HQs) $2,500
CT 40 x WBA in BP $600
36 x WBA in BP. If insufficient BPW, but (36 x WBA) — BPW < $180, eligible for reduced
DE $720
WBA
DC 1% x HQW in BP, or within $70, $1,300 in HQ $1,300 $1,950
FL 1% x HQW in BP; minimum of $3,400 in BP; wages in 2 quarters $2,267 $3,400
GA 1% x HQW in BP $567 $1,134
or alternative: 1/21 HQW for WBA with 40 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters (in 2 HQs)
HI 26 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $130
D 1% x HQW in BP and $1,872 in HQW. Minimum HQW, determined on January 1, must equal $1.872 $2.340
50% of state minimum wage multiplied by 520 hours > >
IL $1,600 flat amount and $440 outside HQ $1,600
IN 1% x HQW totaling at least $2,500 in last 2 quarters of BP and not less than $4,200 in BP $2,800 $4,200
1 3 1/0, 1 1 1
A c11 lf; ;(t :rIQW in BP (HQW must equal 3 2% of the statewide AAW) and 2 HQW in another $1.290 $1.930
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed

State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment F t;l'o Qualify:
9 Base Period
Quarter
KS 30 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $2,565 $3,270
KY 1% x HQW in BP, 8 x WBA in last 2 quarters of BP, $750 outside HQ $1,963 $2,944
LA 1% x HQW in BP $800 $1,200
$1,371
ME 2 x AWW in each of 2 different quarters and total wages of 6 x AWW in BP (in each of $4,112
2 Qs)
172 x HQW in BP, $576.01 in HQ and wages in 2 quarters. If doesn’t meet qualifying
requirement for WBA computed on HQW but does meet requirement for next lower bracket,
MD eligible for lower WBA, step down of 6 brackets; the multiple (12) is not applied to the worker's >§576 $900
HQW, but the qualifying amount, shown in a schedule, is computed at the upper limit of each
wage bracket (assuming a normal interval at the maximum benefit amount)
MA 30 x WBA in BP and $3,500 minimum in BP $3,500
1% x HQW in BP
MI or alternative: BPW equal to 20 times the state AWW and wages in 2 quarters $2,871 $4,307
MN $1,000 in HQ and $250 outside HQ $1,000 $1,250
MS 40 x WBA in BP, 26 x minimum WBA in HQ and wages in 2 quarters $780 $1,200
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter;
Wao or alternative: wages in 2 quarters and BPW of 142 x maximum taxable wage base for that year $1,500 §2,250
12 x HQW in BP with total BP wages > 7% of the AAW
MT or alternative: Total BPW >50% of AAW $1,518 $2,277
NE $800 in each of 2 quarters; $2,761 in BP and $800 in HQ $800 $2,761
1% x HQW in BP and $400 in 1 gtr
AN/ or alternative: wages in 3 of the 4 quarters in the BP $400 $600
NH $1,400 in each of 2 quarters $1,400 $2,800
NI 20 base weeks (20% of AWW) $2.900
or alternative: 1,000 times the state minimum hourly wage. ($6.55/hr state minimum wage) i
NM Wages in 2 quarters $1,539 $1,540
NY 1% x HQW in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,600 $2,400
NC 6 x AWW in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,118 $4,551
ND 12 x HQW in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,864 $2,795
20 weeks employment with wages in each week of at least 27'4% of the state AWW in BP and
OH . $4,260
wages in 2 quarters
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in BP
DR or alternative: flat-amount requirement > $14,200 in BP (100% state taxable wage base) $368 $1,500
1% x HQW in BP and $1,000 in BP
S or alternative: flat-amount requirement 500 hours of employment in BP $667 $1,000
PA 16 credit weeks and at least 20% BPW out of HQ (see table in law) $800 $1,320
40 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters; If fail to meet qualifying requirement for WBA
PR computed on HQW but do meet qualifying requirement for next lower bracket, eligible for lower $77 $280
WBA, unlimited step-down provision. PR has a flat qualifying requirement for agricultural
workers. Individual’s annual salary is used for agricultural workers.
172 x HQW in BP and 200 x minimum hourly wage in 1 quarter and BP wages at least 400 x the
RI minimum hourly wage $1,480 $2,960
or alternative: $1200 x minimum hourly wage in BP
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS
Minimum Wages Needed
State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment F t;l'o Qualify:
9 Base Period
Quarter
SC 172 x HQW in BP and $540 HQW and $900 BPW $540 $900
SD $728 in HQ and 20 x WBA outside HQ $728 $1,288
TN 40 x WBA in BP and lesser of 6 x WBA or $900 outside HQ >$780 >$1,560
TX 37 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,463 $2,183
172 x HQW in BP (BPW must be 8% of state average fiscal year wages in BP, rounded to the
higher $100)
ut or alternative: 20 weeks of insured work with 5% of the monetary BPW requirement in each $2,066 $3,100
week
VT '1.4 X HQW in BP (HQW will be adjusted by a percentage increase equal to the percentage $2.099 $2.939
increase in the state minimum wage for the prior year)
. . $2,700
VA $2,700 in 2 highest 2 quarters of BP (in 2 HQs)
1% x HQW in BP
Vi or alternative: flat-amount requirement $858 in HQW and 39 x WBA in BP 3858 $1,287
WA 680 hours employment in BP and wages in BP or alternate BP
wv $2,200 flat amount and wages in 2 quarters $2,200
WI 35 x WBA in BP, 4 x WBA outside HQ and wages in at least 2 quarters $1,350 $1,890
- - 5 ;
WY 1.4 x HQW in BP and wages in 2 quarters (BPW must be > 8% of statewide AAW rounded $2215 $3.100
down to lowest $50)
GENERAL NOTE: Additional monetary requirements in some state laws result in minimum high quarter and/or base period wages that are
higher than what the qualifying formula alone would require.

QUALIFYING FOR A SECOND BENEFIT YEAR

Since the standard base period established by the states’ laws results in a significant lag between the end

of the base period and the establishment of a benefit year, a worker could conceivably use lag-period wages and
employment to qualify for 2 consecutive benefit years during one long unemployment spell (after benefits are
exhausted and the first benefit year ended). As a result, all states require workers to earn wages after the
beginning of the first benefit year. In many states, the amount a worker must earn is a multiple (from 3 to 10) of
the weekly benefit amount. A few states require a worker to earn wages sufficient to meet the minimum
qualifying requirement. In addition, some states specify that the wages needed to requalify must be earned in
covered employment.

TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent To Wages Subsequent To Wages
S Subsequent To A Subsequent To
State Beglnnln_g Of Date Of Last Other L State Beglnnln_g o Date Of Last Other MUEGLELD
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim In Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
AL 8 X AK 8
AZ 8 AR 3 X
Equivalent
qualifying
CA wages as in CcO $2,000
preceding
BY
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent To Wages Subsequent To Wages
2 Subsequent To A Subsequent To
State Beglnnln_g = Date Of Last Other i BEE State Beglnnln_g or Date Of Last Other Bz
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim In Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
5 or $300,
CT | whichever is X DE 10 X
greater
DC 10 FL 3
GA 10 X HI 5 X
6; wages must
ID be in bona fide IL 3
work
IN 8 X 1A $250 X
8; last 2
KS 8 X KY quarters
of BP
6; or 3/13th of
LA HQ.W’ . X ME 8 X
whichever is
lesser
MD 10 X MA 3
MI 5 MN 8 X
MS ] X MO 5; 10 x WBA in X
non-covered work
6; or 3/13th of Xjugre;im
MT HQ.W’ . X NE work at X
whichever is
lesser least 6 x
WBA
$700 during or
NV 3 NH | subsequent to X
benefit year
4 weeks of
employment
Y and at least 6 x A 3
WBA in wages
NY 5 NC 10 X
3x AWW and
ND 10! X on |covered X
employment in 6
weeks
OK 10 X OR |6 X
3; for at least
PA 6 PR one CQ; but not X
< $50
Insured
80 x the work; must
RI minimum X SC 8 be with a
hourly wage single
employer
SD 4 X TN 5 X
TX 6 UT 6 X
30 days work or
i 4 X VA 240 hours
VI 6 WA 6
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent To Wages Subsequent To Wages
S Subsequent To N Subsequent To
State Beglnnm_g o Date Of Last Other i BEE State Beglnnln_g or Date Of Last Other Bz
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim In Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
WV 8 X WI 8 X

"Does not apply to employment by a partnership, corporation, or limited

wY 8 liability company if, at the time claim is filed, ownership interest has

been ceded.

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT

After determining if a worker has sufficient wages and/or employment to qualify for UI benefits, it is
necessary to determine what the weekly benefit amount - the amount payable for a week of total unemployment
- will be. As previously mentioned, Ul is intended to provide partial wage replacement. For this reason, all
workers do not receive the same benefit amount. Some states replace approximately 50% of workers’ lost
wages up to a certain limit (usually the average weekly wage in the state). As a result, states tend to replace a
higher percentage of low wage workers’ income than they do for high wage workers. Several states provide
dependents’ allowances. All states round weekly benefits to an even dollar amount.

States determine eligibility for UI on the basis of the calendar week (Generally, Sunday through the
following Saturday.) In many states, the claim week is adjusted to coincide with the employer's payroll week
when a worker files a benefit claim for partial unemployment.

METHODS OF COMPUTING WEEKLY BENEFITS
As with qualifying wages, states utilize a variety of methods to determine a worker’s weekly benefit amount.

High-Quarter Method—More than half of the states determine the weekly benefit amount by using the base
period quarter in which wages were highest. This quarter is viewed as the period most nearly reflecting full-
time work for the worker. By dividing this amount by 13 - the number of weeks in a calendar quarter - the
average weekly wage is calculated. Based on the percentage of the weekly wage the state intends to replace, the
weekly wage is divided and the weekly benefit amount is calculated. For example, a worker who earns $2,600
in the high quarter has an average weekly wage of $200 a week ($2,600 divided by 13). If the state replaces ' of
the average weekly earnings, the weekly benefit amount is $100. To simplify the calculations, states determine
the “overall” multiple of the high-quarter wages to determine the weekly benefit amount. In the above example,
it would be 1/26 (1/13 times 2). (Note that this type of formula is used by all states using a multiple of high-
quarter wages to establish a benefit year.) 1/26 is the most common multiple used by states.

Since even the quarter of highest earnings may include some unemployment, some states use a fraction
generating a higher weekly benefit (e.g., 1/23). Some states use a weighted schedule, which gives a greater
proportion of the high-quarter wages to lower-paid workers than to those earning more. In these states, the
maximum fraction varies from 1/11 to 1/26 while the minimum varies from 1/23 to 1/33.

Multi-Quarter Method—Under this method, the weekly benefit amount is calculated as a multiple of the total
or average quarterly wages paid in more than one quarter. This approach is viewed as being more likely to
reflect a worker’s usual full-time employment pattern since it surveys a greater period of time rather than just
focusing on the quarter with highest earnings.

Annual-Wage Method—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of annual wages in the base
period. This approach reflects the view that annual wages determine the worker’s standard of living. Most
states use a weighted schedule which gives a larger proportion of annual wages to the lower-paid workers to
determine their weekly benefit amount.
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Average-Weekly-Wage Formula—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of the worker’s
average weekly wages in the base period.

The following table provides information on how states calculate weekly benefit amounts, what the minimum
and maximum weekly benefit amounts are in each state, and the wages required in order to be eligible for the
weekly benefit amounts.

TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method Of Calculating &

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum wages required

State Rounding to for maximum WBA
Formula — T - T - -
Minimum Maximum High quarter Base period
MQ . $13,730
AL 1/26 of average wages in 2 high quarters Higher $ $45 $265 N/A in 2 quarters
AW
AK 0.9% - 4.4% BP wages + DA (see table in law.) Nearest $ $56 - $128 $370 - $442 N/A $41,750
az |19 Nearest $ $60 §240 $5.988 $8.981
AR '1_}?6 Lower $ $79 $441 $11,466 $11,907
HQ
CA [ 1/23-1/26 (If HQW < $1,833, see table in law; Higher $ $40 $450 $11,675 $14,594
otherwise, 1/26 HQW.)
HQ/WW
Higher of: $443 $9,599 - $21 91’1132;“
(1) 60% of 1/26 of 2 highest consecutive (low formula) | (low formula) (low ;lormula)
CO | quarters, capped by 50% of average weekly Lower $ $25
earnings (low formula); or $487 Not applicable $50.648
(2) 50% of 1/52 BP earnings, capped by 55% of (high formula) | (high formula) A
. . (high formula)
avg. weekly earnings (high formula)
MQ/HQ . ) $13,962
CT | 1/26 wages in 2 HQs + DA, for construction Lower $ $15-$30 $537 - $612 in2 Laners $21,480
workers, 1/26 of HQW + DA q
MQ $15,180 in 2
D2 1/46 of wages earned in highest 2 quarters Lower § $20 $330 N/A quarters
DC '1_}?6 Lower $ $50-$100 $359 - $409 $9,334 $14,001
FL |1_}2Q6 Lower $ $32 $275 $7,150 $10,725
MQ
1/42 wages in 2 HQs; computed as 1/21 of HQW $13.860 in 2
GA | when alternative qualifying wages are used Lower § $44 $330 N/A l’la rters
(Note: If claimant would qualify for $27-$44 the d
claimant’s WBA is $44.)
HI ll_}gl Higher $ $5 $559 $11,719 $14,534
HQ
ID 126 Lower $ $72 $334 $8,684 $10,855
MQ . . . $21,255in 2
IL | 47% of the claimant's wages in highest 2 quarters Higher $ $51 - $77 $385 - $531 N/A :1a -
divided by 26 + DA q
HQ
IN 5% of the first $2,000 in HQ wage credits and Lower $ $50 $390 $9,250 $11,563
4% of the remaining HQ wage credits
HQ
IA | 1/19 (4 or more dependents) - 1/23 (no Lower $ $56 - $67 $374 - $459 $8,602 $10,753
dependents)
HQ
KS 425% Lower § $109 $436 $10,259 $13,080
KY AW Nearest $ $39 $415 N/A $31,695
1.3078% BPW |
LA MQ Lower $ $10 $247 N/A $24,700

1/25 of the average wages in 4 quarters of BP
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method Of Calculating &

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum wages required

State Rounding to for maximum WBA
Formula — T - T - -
Minimum Maximum High quarter Base period
MQ $15,664
ME | 1/22 of the average of the 2 HQs + DA (see table Lower $ $62 - $93 $356 - $534 N/A . ’
. in 2 quarters
in law)
HO $410°
MD Higher $ $25 - $65 same with or >$9,816 $14,760
1/24 + DA .
without DA
MQ $32,708
MA | 50% of 1/26 of total wages in 2 HQs up to 57.5% Lower $ $33 - $49 $629 - $943 N/A in 2 high
of state AWW quarters
HO $362
MI Lower $ $117 - $147 same with or $8,830 $13,245
4.1% + DA .
without DA
$377 $9802 $10,052
HOMW (bﬁae&/ <)>n $9,126 (based |  (based on
M | The higher of 50% of 1/52 BPW up to Lower § $38 on HQW) HQW)
66%% of the state AWW, or 50% of 1/13 HQ up $585 .
to 43% of the state’s AWW Not applicable $60.,840
(based on (based on (based on
BPW) BPW) BPW)
MS |1_}§6 Lower $ $30 $235 $6,110 $9,400
MQ $16,000 in 2
MO 4.0% of the average of the 2 HQs Lower § $35 $320 N/A quarters
AW/MQ $22.211
MT 1.0% of BPW or 1.9% of wages in the 2 HQs Lower § 3125 $422 NA in 2 quarters
NE '1_};?6 Lower $ $30 $318 $8,268 $9,068
NV '1_}% Lower $ $16 $400 $10,000 $15,000
NH AW Nearest $ $32 $427 N/A $41,500
1.0% - 1.1% of BPW (see table in law) i
Ww $600 $20.000
NI | 60% (base weeks’ wages/number of base weeks) Lower $ $87 - $100 same with or N/A in 20 ? ceks
+ DA. without DA v
HQ
NM | 60% of AWW in HQ + DA; wages in 2 quarters Lower $ $71 - $106.50 $426 - $526 $9,230 $9,231
of BP’
NY HQ Nearest $ $64 $405 $10,517 $15,776
1/26; 1/25 if HQW < $3,575 ’ ’
NC |1_}§6 Lower $ $43 $505 $13,130 $13,131
MQ
ND | 1/65 of (total wages earned in highest 2 quarters Lower § $43 $431 N/A $28,015
and % of total wages in third highest quarter).
ww o . $15,000
OH | 50% (wages in qualified weeks in BP / number Lower $ $106 $375 - $508 N/A . i
in 20 weeks
of such weeks) + DA
OK '1*/?3 Lower $ $16 $430 $9,890 $14,900"
OR AW Lower $ $115 $493 N/A $39.,440
1.25% BP wages ’
HQ
PA 1/23 - 1/25 + DA (see table in law) Lower $ $35- 843 $564 - §572 $14,038 $22,480
HQ
PR 11 - 126 Lower $ $7 $133 $3,458 $5,320
HQ
RI 4.62% + DA Lower $ $68 - $118 $546 - $682 $11,819 N/A
sc | H9 Lower $ 520 $326 $8.476 512,714
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method Of Calculating & Weekly Benefit Amount Minimurn wages required
State etho Fomiiuclz:ij ating Rounding to eekly Benefit Amoun for maximum WBA
Minimum® Maximum® | High quarter | Base period
SD |1_}(2?6 Lower $ $28 $309 $8,034 $14,214
MQ >$14,300 in 2
N 06 of average of 2 HQs (see table in law) Lower $ $30 - $80 $275 - $325 N/A quarters
X ';}?5 Nearest $ $59 $406 $10,138 $15,004
ur |72 Lower $ $29 5451 $11,726 $17,589
MQ $19,125in 2
M Wages in the 2 highest quarters divided by 45 Lower § $64 $425 N/A quarters
MQ >$18,900 in 2
s 1/50 of 2 HQs (see table in law) Lower § $54 $378 N/A quarters
VI '1_}?6 Lower $ $33 $462 $12,012 $18,018
WA MQ Lower $ $133 $560 N/A $29,091
3.85% of average of 2 HQs ’
AW
WV | 55% of 1/52 of median wages in worker’s wage Lower $ $24 $424 N/A $40,150
class. (see table in law)
WI 4H(()?% Lower $ $54 $363 $9,075 $12,705
wy | M9 Lower $§ $31 5438 $10,950 $15,330
. 0

KEY: HQ = High Quarter Formula MQ = Multi-Quarter Formula AW = Annual Wage Formula WW = Average Weekly Wage Formula
DA = Dependent’s Allowances

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum weekly benefit amount are the same as the wage
and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See Table 3-3.) Additionally, in states where the benefit
entitlement is calculated using multi-quarter, annual wage, or average weekly wage formulas, the high quarter cell is shown as N/A as no specific
level of wages is required in the high quarter pursuant to state law.

! When 2 WBAS are listed, higher figure includes DA. Higher figure for minimum and maximum WBAs includes DA for maximum number of
dependents.

2 Effective October 1, 2010 the maximum WBA will increase to $430. The HQW on October 1, 2010 will be >$10,296 and the BPW will be
$15,480.

* The formula for calculating the WBA will revert to 53'4% of the AWW in the HQ on July 1, 2011.

* The BPW can be comprised of both insured and non-insured wages. To be eligible for the maximum WBA only $9,890 of the $14,900 of BPW
must be taxable.

AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

In those states where Ul is intended to replace a specific percent of wages up to a fixed percent of the state’s
average weekly wage, the calculation of benefit entitlement is determined by the state’s average weekly wage.
Because wages increase, states recalculate the average weekly wage periodically to update the benefits schedule
and continue to replace the desired percentage of a worker’s lost wages. The maximum weekly benefit amount
is usually more than 50 percent of the average weekly wage in covered employment within the state during a
recent 1-year period. In most states, the minimum weekly benefit is an amount specified in the law. However,
some states’ laws link the minimum weekly benefit amount with their average weekly wage as well. The
following table includes states with automatic adjustment to benefits amounts.
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS

Method Of Computation

Semiannually As % Of

Annually As % Of AWW In AWW In Covered Percentage Of State AWW
Covered Employment In: .
Employment In:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding [ Months | Months Months Industries Maximum Minimum Date Of
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
. 12% (low
2/0
AR X 66%% (high formula) formula) July 1
CO X 55% July 1
60%; based on AWW of production
CT X and related workers (may not be 1* Sunday
increased by more than $18 in any in Oct.
year)
DC X 66%:% Jan. 1
HI X 75% Jan. 1
Percentage varies (52% - 60%)
D X depending upon the base tax rate in a Jan. 1
given year
47%,; for claimants with dependents,
maximum is limited to 65.2% of
IL X state's AWW, which is based on Jan. 1
percentage changes from year to
year
53%,; for claimants with no
A X dependents. For claimants with 1* Sunday
dependents, ranges from 55% to in July
65%
25% of
0,
KS X 60% max WBA July 1
62%; cannot increase in any year
KY X Wher} tax schedule increases from July 1
previous year (year-to-year increases
limited depending on fund balance)
LA X 66%:% Sept. 1
ME X 52% June 1
st
MA X 57%% I” Sunday
in Oct.
Higher of 50% of the worker’s
AWW in the BP to a maximum of Last
MN X 66%% of the state AWW; or 50% of Sunday in
the worker’s AWW during the HQ Oc toger
to a maximum of 43% of the state
AWW
MT X 672% 20% July 1
NV X 50% July 1
NJ X 56%% Jan. 1
st
NM X 53 149% 10% 1 .Sunday
in Jan.
NC X 66%:% August 1
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS

Method Of Computation

Semiannually As % Of

Annually As % Of AWW In Percentage Of State AWW
Covered Employment In: AWW n Covere_d
Employment In:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding [ Months | Months Months Industries Maximum Minimum Date Of
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
62%; 65% of state AWW if trust
fund reserves on Oct. 1 are > the
ND X required amount and the state's 1* Sunday
average contribution rate is < the in July
nationwide average for the preceding
year
N N st
OH X Percentage used is not specified by 1 ‘ Sunday
law in Jan.
The greater of $197 or 60%, 57.7%,
55%, 52%:% or 50% of state AWW
OK X of the second preceding CY, July 1
depending on the condition of the
fund
OR X 64% 15% Week of
July 4
PA X 66%:% Jan. 1
PR X 50% July 1
RI X 67% July 1
SC X 66%% July 1
SD X 50% July 1
TX X 47.6% 7.6% Oct. 1
UT X 622% Jan. 1
. 1* Sunday
VT X Percentage not specified by law in July
VI X 50% Jan. 1
St
WA X 63%' 15% I” Sunday
in July
wvV X 66%:% July 1
0,
66%:% of the average wages per 15 A’ of Jan. 1 &
WI X maximum
average week July 1
rate
st
WY X 55% 4% 1 ) Sunday
in July

! The maximum WBA is calculated as the greater of $496 or 63% of the AWW for the preceding calendar year.

states, the waiting-period requirement for weeks of partial unemployment is the same as for weeks of total

WAITING PERIOD

Workers who are otherwise eligible for benefits must first serve a waiting period in most states. In most

unemployment. The waiting period is served in or with respect to a particular benefit year. Special provisions
may exist for successive benefit years. (When a worker, after intervening employment, has an additional spell

of unemployment that continues beyond the end of the first benefit year, the worker may not have to serve

another waiting week if he is monetarily eligible for benefits in the second year.)
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TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS

State (iIﬁL\]/\I;:;:fsr)]* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances
AL 1
AK 1
AZ 1
AR 1
During a state of war emergency or a state of emergency if
CA 12 compliance with the waiting period requirement would prevent,
hinder, or delay the mitigation of the effects of a state of
emergency (e.g., natural disaster)
co r
CT No waiting period
DE No waiting period
DC 1
FL 1
GA No waiting period
HI 1
ID 1
IL 1
For individuals who become unemployed due to employer
IN E 3 weeks of unemployment consecutive to terminating business operations within the state, declaring
such waiting week bankruptcy, or initiating a workforce reduction pursuant to the
Federal WARN Act
1A No waiting period
For individuals who become unemployed due to employer
KS 1 3 weeks of unemployment consecutive to terminating business operations within the state; the employer
such waiting week declaring bankruptcy or a workforce reduction that is subject to
the Federal WARN Act
KY No waiting period
LA 1
ME 1
MD No waiting period
MA 1 | No waivers though authority exists and has been used before
MI No waiting period
MN | If the individual would have been entitled to DUA but has
established benefit account
MS | If the President declares a major disaster in accordance with
Stafford Act
When remaining balance on claim is equal
MO 1 to or less than compensable amount for
waiting week
MT 1
NE 1
NV No waiting period
NH 1
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TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS

State (ial:/;:;:?sr)]* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances

NI No waiting period

NM 1 Natural disaster, extended benefit program

NY 1 At the direction of the Governor

NC 1 May be waived for major industrial disasters

ND 1

OH 1

OK 1

OR 1

PA 1

PR 1

RI 1 For individuals who become unemployed due to a natural disaster
or state of emergency

SC 1

SD 1

3 consecutive weeks of compensable
N 1 unemployment immediately following a
waiting period

TX 1® Receipt of benefits equaling 3 x WBA
If Department approval for training is granted for the first eligible

UT 1 .
week of the claim

VT No waiting period
For an individual whose unemployment was caused by his
employer terminating operations, closing its business or declaring

VA 1 bankruptcy without paying the final wages earned as required by
Section 40.1-29 of the Code of Virginia
Authorized by the Governor under an executive order

VI N

WA 1

WV 1

WI No waiting period

WY No waiting period

* For total unemployment, partial unemployment or in consecutive benefit years unless otherwise noted.

' The waiting period is served in the 14™ week.
% One week waiting period is deferred if claimant is in continued claim status from a prior year’s claim. The one-week waiting period must
be served later in the new benefit year if there is an interruption of Ul payments for one or more weeks. Also, the 1-week waiting period
credit for the new benefit year may be served in the last week of the prior benefit year if the claim was exhausted prior to the last week of

that benefit year.
® No waiting period required for new/consecutive benefit year.
* The waiting week provision is effective beginning with benefit years commencing on or after January 3, 2010.
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BENEFITS FOR PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT

Often, instead of being laid off, workers may have their hours reduced during an economic downturn.
Or, unemployed workers may find short term work while looking for a permanent, full-time job. These
circumstances characterize partial unemployment. The Ul system is set up to permit benefit receipt by these
workers as long as they meet all eligibility requirements. However, the weekly benefit amount payable differs.

A week of total unemployment is commonly defined as a week in which the worker performs no work
and with respect to which remuneration is not payable. In Puerto Rico, a worker is deemed totally unemployed
if earnings from self-employment are less than 1% times the weekly benefit amount or if no service is performed
for a working period of 32 hours or more in a week. In a few states, a worker is considered totally unemployed
in a week even though certain small amounts of wages are earned. In most states, a worker is partially
unemployed in a week of less than full-time work and earnings of less than the weekly benefit amount. In some
states, a worker is partially unemployed in a week of less than full-time work when less than the weekly benefit
amount plus an allowance is earned, either from odd-job earnings or from any source as indicated in the table
below.

The worker’s Ul payment will generally equal the difference between the weekly benefit amount and
earnings. All states disregard some earnings as an incentive to take short term work.

When determining monetary entitlement to benefits, the state usually specifies a maximum dollar
amount that can be received—usually equal to a specified number of weeks of benefits for total unemployment
multiplied by the weekly benefit amount for total unemployment. Consequently, a partially unemployed worker
may draw benefits for a greater number of weeks than a totally unemployed worker.

Most state laws provide that the benefit for a week of partial unemployment will be rounded to the
nearest or the lower dollar. For example, in a state with a $30 earnings disregard and rounding to the nearest
dollar, a worker with a $40 weekly benefit amount and earnings of $50.95 would receive a partial benefit of $19.

TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT & EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In
State Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly State Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial Less Than Full-Time Work If Benefit For Partial
If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment
AL WBA $15 AK 175 x WBA + $50 Vs wages over $50
2/5 WBA
AZ WBA $30 AR WBA +2/5 WBA
CA WBA 1Greater of $25 or co WBA L, WBA
Y4 of wages
Y5 wages; includes holiday
. . pay in the remuneration WBA + greater of $10 .
CT 1% + basic WBA for determining partial DE or % WBA Greater of $10 or 2 WBA
benefits
8 x Federal hourly minimum
DC WBA + $20 1/5 wages + $20 FL WBA wage
GA WBA $50; excludes payments HI WBA $150
for jury service
ID WBA + 2 WBA 2 WBA IL WBA 2 WBA
Greater of $3 or 1/5 WBA
IN WBA from other than base 1A WBA + $15 s WBA
period ERs
KS WBA Yo WBA KY 1Yax WBA 1/5 wages
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TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT & EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In
State Unemployment: Week Of Comp_uting Weel_<ly State Unemployment; Week Of Compyting Weel.<ly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial Less Than Full-Time Work If Benefit For Partial
If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment
$25; excludes wages
received by members of the
National Guard and
LA WBA Lesser of %4 WBA or $50 | ME WBA +3$5 organized labor, including
base pay and allowances or
any amounts received as a
volunteer emergency
medical services worker
Y5 WBA; earnings plus
MD Augmented WBA $100 MA WBA WBA may not equal or
exceed the worker's AWW
For each $1 earned, WBA
reduced by 50 cents For each $1 earned, WBA
(benefits and earnings reduced by 55 cents; no
cannot exceed 12 WBA); deduction for jury pay and
earnings above /> WBA wages earned for services
MI 172 x WBA result in dollar-for-dollar MN WBA performed in National
reduction in WBA; if the Guard and military reserve,
resulting WBA is zero and as a volunteer firefighter
weeks of benefits payable or in ambulance services
reduced by 1 week
$20 or 1/5 WBA, whichever
is greater; excludes
termination pay, severance
MS WBA $40 MO WBA.+ $20 or I/5 WBA, pay, and wages from service
whichever is greater . : —
in the organized militia for
training or authorized duty
from benefit computation
MT 2 x WBA > wages over 4 WBA NE WBA Ya WBA
NV WBA V4 wages NH WBA 3/10 WBA
NJ WBA + greater of $5 or 1/5 Greater of $5 or 1/5 WBA | NM WBA 1/5 WBA, §xcludes.
WBA payments for jury service
Benefits paid at the rate of %4 WBA for each effective day
within a week beginning on Monday (effective day defined Week of less than 3 customary .
NY as 4™ and each subsequent day of total unemployment in a R scheduled full-time days V10 AWW in HQ
week in which claimant earns not more than $300)
ND WBA 3/5 WBA OH WBA 1/5 WBA
s WBA; or 10 x state
minimum wage ($8.40 in
2010); excludes wages from
OK WBA + $100 $100 OR WBA service in the organized
militia for training or
authorized duty from benefit
computation
12 x WBA; week in which
wages or remuneration from
self-employment are less than
PA WBA +2/5 WBA Greater of $6 or 2/5S WBA | PR | 1% times claimant's WBA or WBA
the claimant performs no
service for a working period of
32 hours or more in a week
RI' Basic WBA 1/5 WBA SC WBA i WBA
SD WBA Y wages over $25 TN WBA Greater of $50 or 4 WBA
1
Tx | WBAT grssgg"f“ o' | Greater of $5or %4 WBA | UT WBA 3/10 WBA
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TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT & EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In
State Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly State Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial Less Than Full-Time Work If Benefit For Partial
If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment
WBA + $15 provided the
claimant works less than 35 Greater of $40 or 3/10
VI hours (35 hours is considered WBA M WBA $50

full-time employment)

VI 175 x WBA + $15 Y4 wages in excess of §15 | WA 1% x WBA + 85 Vs wages over $5

Any week the worker receives $30 plus 33% of wages in
any wages. (no worker may be | excess of $30 (excludes
eligible for partial benefits if wages received as a

the benefit payment is < $5; or | volunteer firefighter or

if an employer paid the worker | voluntary medical

WV WBA + $61 $60 WI | at least 80% of the BPW; or the | technician from benefit
worker worked for the computation)

employer at least 35 hours in
the week at the same; or a
greater rate of pay as the
worker was paid in the HQ)

wY WBA 2 WBA

"' Special provision for totally unemployed workers who have days of employment between the end of the waiting period and the beginning of
the first compensable week, and also for those who return to work prior to the end of a compensable week, provided they have been in receipt
of benefits for at least 2 successive weeks of total unemployment. For each day of unemployment in such week in which work is ordinarily
performed in the worker's occupation, one-fifth of the weekly benefit is paid, up to four-fifths of the weekly rate.

DEPENDENTS’ ALLOWANCES

Although wages earned during the base period is the primary factor in determining the size of the
payment a claimant receives each week, some states’ laws provide for a dependents’ allowance above and
beyond the basic benefit amount payable. The definition of dependent, for UI purposes, varies from state to
state as does the allowance granted. In general, a dependent must be wholly or mainly supported by the worker
or living with or receiving regular support from the worker.

DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT—ALII states with dependents’ allowances include children under a specified
age. The intent is to include all children whom the worker is morally obligated to support. In most of these
states, allowances may be paid on behalf of older children who are unable to work because of physical or mental
disability. In some states, children are not the only dependents recognized - spouses, parents, or siblings are also
included in the definition. The following table outlines, for the states that have dependents’ allowances, their
definition of a dependent.

TABLE 3-9: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Dependent Child Nonworking Dependent
Older Brother Number of
State Under 18 Unless Otherwise Child Not Dependents | Max. No. of
Noted" Able To SIFOLER eI or Fixed For Dependents
Work! S BY

Child must be unmarried; must have
received more than half the cost of

AK | support from claimant or be lawfully X2 3
in the worker's custody at the time
the worker claims the allowance.?

CT 21 if child is full-time student. x3 X 5

DC* 162 X2 X X X X 4
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TABLE 3-9: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Dependent Child Nonworking Dependent
Older Brother Number of
State Under 18 Unless Otherwise Child Not S P t Dependents | Max. No. of
Noted® Able To pouse aren or Fixed For Dependents
Work! Sister BY
Spouse must be
currently ineligible
IL X? X? for benefits in the 1
State because of
insufficient BPW.
No dependency
allowance paid for
IA X2 X2 any week in which X x X 4
spouse earns more
than $120 in gross
wages.
No dependency
allowance paid for
any week in which
ME X2 x2.3 spouse is employed X
full time and is
contributing to
support of
dependents.
MD 167 X’ X 5
Child must be unmarried and by
MA® | interpretation; 24 if child is full-time X3 X X
student.?
Must have received more than half
the cost of support from claimant for 2.3 7 8
MI at least 90 consecutive days or for the X X X X X >
duration of the parental relationship.’
19; child must be unmarried; 22 if 2,3
LY child is full-time student.” X X X 3
Child must also be unemancipated.
Child may be in legal custody of
NM claimant pending adoption. Court 4
requires claimant to contribute to
child’s support and no one else is
receiving benefits for that child.
Must have received more than half
the cost of support from claimant May not be claimed
within 90 days prior to BYB (or as dependent if
OH duration of parental relationship, if X2 average weekly X 3
less than 90 days). Child, stepchild income is in excess of
or adopted child may be 18 years of 25% of the claimant's
age or older if mentally or physically AWW.
disabled and unable to work.”
PA X X X 2
RI X? X? X 5
Child must be an un-emancipated
TN minor child who is wholly or mainly 4
supported by the claimant.”

"'In all states except MA, includes stepchild by statute in all states except.

21n AK

FRI\ )

and in DC, MA legal guardians are included by statute.
® Full-time student included in, CT, ME, MA, M1, and NJ.
* The dependent allowance provision expires December 31, 2010.
® The dependent allowance is capped at 50% of the claimant’s WBA.
® Only dependents residing within the U.S., its Territories and possessions.
7 Parents over 65 or permanently disabled for gainful employment.
8 Brother or sister under 18, orphaned, or whose living parents are dependents.
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AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS” ALLOWANCES—As with the definition of dependents, there is
much variation among states concerning the amount of weekly dependents’ allowance payable. However, there
are some commonalities. For example, the allowance is ordinarily a fixed sum. In addition, all states have a
limit on the total amount of dependents’ allowance payable in any week: in terms of dollar amount; number of
dependents; percentage of basic benefits, of high-quarter wages, or of average weekly wage. This limitation
results in reductions, for some workers, in the actual allowance per dependent or the maximum number of
dependents on whose behalf allowances may be paid. In almost all states, the number of dependents is fixed for
the benefit year when the monetary determination on the claim is made. Likewise, in virtually all states, only
one parent may draw allowances if both are receiving benefits simultaneously. Workers who are eligible for
partial benefits may draw dependents’ allowances in addition to their basic benefits in most of the states
providing for these allowances. They receive the full allowance for a week of partial unemployment.
Consequently, the allowance for dependents may be greater than the basic benefit for partial unemployment.
Alaska and Connecticut permit the dependents’ allowances to be adjusted during the benefit year if a worker
acquires additional dependents.

TABLE 3-10: AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS’” ALLOWANCES

Weekly Weekly Maximum Maximum
State Allowance Per Dependents’ Allowances Dependents’ Allowance For Dependents’ Allowance For
Dependent Capped At: Minimum Weekly Benefit Maximum Weekly Benefit
AK $24 $§72 $72 $72
CT $15 Lesser of WBA or $75 $15 $75
DC' $15 $50 $50 $50
IL $26 - $147 $26 - $147 $26 $147%
1A $2-%14 Schedule $2 - $85 $11 $85
ME $10 > WBA $30 $178
MD $8 $40 $40 $0; same maximum WBA with or without
dependents.
MA $25 ¥, WBA $17 $314
MI $6 $30 $30 $0; same maximum WBA with or without
dependents.
7% of WBA for 1* dependent and 4% for each of the $0; same maximum WBA with or without
NI $13
next 2 dependents. dependents.
NM $25 % WBA up to $100 $35.50 $100
Determined by schedule
OH $1-3$133 according to the AWW and $0 $133
dependency class.
$5; $3 for one
PA other dependent. 38 38 38
0,
RI The greater of $10 or 5% WBA per dependent, up to 5 $50 $136
dependents.
N $15 $50 $50 $50

GENERAL NOTE: Full dependents’ allowance (DA) given for weeks of partial benefits in all states with the following exceptions: MD and
PA - Not more than 26 DA payments for dependents may be made in any one BY (Workers are partially unemployed if they earn less than the
unadjusted WBA.) IL — DA shown is for child, spouse DA is different.

' The dependent allowance provision expires December 31, 2010.
% Both the WBA and the dependents’ allowances are calculated as a percentage of the state’s average weekly wage.
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DURATION OF BENEFITS

When states compute a worker’s monetary eligibility for benefits, in addition to calculating the weekly
benefit amount, they determine the duration of benefits—how long benefits can be collected. The duration is
usually measured as a number of weeks of total unemployment. Maximum weeks of benefits vary from 26 to 30
weeks, most frequently 26 weeks. A few states’ laws establish uniform durations of 26 weeks for all workers
who meet the qualifying-wage requirements, whereas the rest of the states have variable durations. Uniform
duration states are not necessarily “more generous” than the other states because many of these states have
comparatively high minimum wage thresholds to qualify for all but the lowest benefit levels. Similarly, whether
directly or indirectly, all uniform duration states require employment in more than one quarter for all - or most -
workers to qualify for benefits.

In variable duration states, duration is derived. First, the state determines the limit on total benefits
receivable in a benefit year (the maximum entitlement). In most of these states, a worker's benefits are limited
to a fraction or percent of base-period wages if it produces an amount less than the specified multiple (usually
26-30) of the worker's weekly benefit amount. The rest of the variable duration states - states using an average-
weekly-wage method - set maximum potential benefits as a fraction of weeks worked during the base period.
Once the state calculates the maximum entitlement, it divides that amount by the weekly benefit amount to
derive the duration. Some states’ laws specify both the minimum and maximum duration, in weeks, along with
the method of calculating benefit entitlement. Since, in all of these states, the maximum potential benefit may
be used for weeks of total or partial unemployment, workers can collect benefits longer than their stated duration
(until they have exhausted their maximum entitlement).

Depending on the distribution of wages in the base period, workers with the same total base period
wages can have different durations and different weekly benefit amounts. For example, workers whose wages
are concentrated largely or wholly in the high quarter will have a higher weekly benefit amount but a shorter
duration.

In most states with variable duration, workers at all benefit levels are subject to the same minimum and
maximum weeks of duration.

A few states include a limitation on wage credits in computing duration. For example, in Colorado,
only wages up to 26 times the current maximum weekly amount per quarter count. This type of provision tends
to reduce weeks of benefits for workers at the higher benefit levels.

This section deals only with the regular UI program. Extensions are addressed in the following chapter.

The following table describes how each variable duration state calculates benefit entitlement and the
duration of benefits (number of benefit weeks) a worker is eligible to receive; and for all states, the minimum
and maximum potential benefits, duration, and wage credits required to qualify for the maximum duration of the
maximum weekly benefit amount.

TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential F : Duration
: Wage credits required
SIE Entitlement Benefits: Amounts? E q (Weeks)
i
Amount High quarter Base period
AL | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $675 $6,890 N/A $20,670 15-26
AK Ratio of annual wages to HQW—from less $896 $9.620 -11,492 N/A $41,750 16— 26
than 1.50 to 3.5 or more
AZ Lesser of 26 x WBA or 3 BPW $720 $6,240 $5,988 $18,720 12 -26
AR Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $711 $11,466 $11,466 $34,398 9-26
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TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential : : Duration
: Wage credits required
SIELD Entitlement Benefits: Amounts? g q (Weeks)
1
Amount High quarter Base period
CA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or Y2 BPW $560 $11,700 $11,675 $23,400 14 -26
$11,518 $9,599 $34,554
(low formula) (low formula) (low formula)
CO | Lesser of 26 x WBA or !5 wage credits in BP $325 13-26
$12,662 Not applicable $50,648
(high formula) (high formula) (high formula)
CT N/A: Uniform duration state $390 $13,962 - $15,912 . $13,962 $21,480 .26
in 2 quarters uniform
DE | Lesser of 26 x WBA or %2 BPW $480 $8,580 N/A $17,160 24 -26
DC | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 50% BPW $950 $9,334 $9,334 $18,668 19-26
FL 25% BPW up to $7150 $288 $7,150 $7,150 $28,600 9-26
GA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or % BPW $264 $8,580 N/A $34,320 6-26
HI N/A: Uniform duration state $130 $14,534 $11,719 $14,534 .26
uniform
1D Ratio of BPW to HQW--from 1.25 to 3.5 $720 $8,684 $8,684 $30,394 10-26
N/A: Uniform duration state .
IL | (Claimants are eligible for the lesser of 26 $1326 | $10,010-$13,806 N/A $21’§t56 n 2 nizfgrm
weeks of benefits or their total BP wages) au Y
Lesser of 26 x WBA or 28% of BP wage
IN credits; only specified amount ofwages per $400 $10,140 $9.250 $36.215 326
quarter may be used for computing duration
of benefits: $8,733
Lesser of 26 x WBA or Y5 BPW; If laid off
1A due to employer going out of business, % of $504 $9,724 - $11,934 $8,602 $29,172 9-26
wages in BP up to 39 weeks
KS Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $1,090 $11,336 $10,259 $34,008 10-26
KY Lesser of 26 x WBA or Y5 BPW $585 $10,790 N/A $32,370 15-26
LA | N/A: Uniform duration state $260 $6,422 N/A $23,786 26
uniform
ME | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $930 $9,256 - $13,884 N/A $27,768 22-26
$10,660° 2%
MD | N/A: Uniform duration state $650 same maximum >$9.816° $14,760* uniform
with or without DA
Lesser of 30 x WBA or 36% BPW (Reduced
MA | to 26 x WBA all of the local area SMSAs $330 $18,870 - $28,290 N/A $52,417 10-30
unemployment rate < 5.1%)
43% BPW + WBA, rounded to next lower 2 $9’4.12
MI ’ $1,638 same with or $8,830 $22,251 14 -26
week .
without DA
$9,802 $9,802 $29,406
(based on HQW) (based on HQW) | (based on HQW)
MN | Lesser of 26 x WBA or /3 BPW $418 11-26
$15,210 Not applicable $60,840
(based on BPW) (based on BPW) (based on BPW)
MS | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $390 $6,110 $6,110 $18,330 13-26
MO | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $280 $8,320 N/A $24,960 8-26
MT Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.0to 3.5 or $1,000 $11.816 N/A $38.870 g _ gt
greater (See schedule in law)
NE | Lesser of 26 x WBA or /s BPW $420 $8,268 $8,268 $24,804 14 -26
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TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential : : Duration
. Wage credits required
SIELD Entitlement Benefits: Amounts? g q (Weeks)
1
Amount High quarter Base period
NV | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $192 $10,400 $10,000 $31,200 12-26
NH | N/A: Uniform duration state $832 $11,102 N/A $41,500 2 6
uniform
$15,600
0, 9
Ny | Lesser of 26 x WBA or (100% of weeks $1,740 same with or N/A $26,000 1-26
worked in BP x WBA). .
without DA
NM | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 60% BPW $1,136 $11,076 - $13,676 $9,230 $18,460 16- 26
NY | N/A: Uniform duration state $1,664 $10,530 $10,517 $15,776 .26
uniform
NC (BPW /HQW) x 8% $559 $13,130 $13,130 $39,390 13-26
ND | Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.5 to 3.2 $516 $11,206 N/A $59,767 12-26
Lesser of 26 x WBA or 20 x WBA+ WBA for $19.500
OH | each qualifying week in excess of 20 up to a $2,120 $9,750 - $13,208 N/A . ’ 20-26
; in 26 weeks
maximum of 26 weeks.
Lesser of 26 x WBA or a variable percentage
OK | of the state’s AAW for the 2™ preceding year $256 $9,300 $9,890 $14,900° 18 - 26
depending upon the conditional factor in place
OR Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $345 $12,818 N/A $39,440 3-26
A worker with at least 18 credit weeks is
pa | cligible for 26 weeks; with at least 16 credit $560 $14,664 - $14,872 $14,038 $22,240 16 or 26
weeks, 16 weeks. A credit week is one in
which claimant earned at least $50
PR | N/A: Uniform duration state $182 $3,458 $3,458 $5,320 26
uniform
RI Lesser of 26 x WBA or 36% BPW $544 $14,196 - $17,732 $11,819 $39,434 8-26
SC Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $260 $8.476 $8,476 $25,428 13-26
SD Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $420 $8,034 $8,034 $24,102 15-26
TN Lesser of 26 x WBA or ¥4 BPW $390 $7,150 N/A $28,600 13-26
TX Lesser of 26 x WBA or 27% BPW $590 $10,556 $10,138 $39,097 10-26
UT 27% BPW $290 $11,726 $11,726 $43,430 10 -26
VT | N/A: Uniform duration state $1,664 $11,050 N/A $19,125 26
uniform
VA | 26 x WBA (see table in law) $648 $9,828 N/A >$37,800 12-26
VI Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $429 $12,012 $12,012 $36,036 13-26
WA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $133 $14,560 N/A $43,680 1-26
WV | N/A: Uniform duration state $624 $11,024 N/A $40,150 2 6
uniform
WI Lesser of 26 x WBA or 40% BPW $756 $9,438 $9,075 $23,595 14 -26°
WY | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 30% BPW $341 $11,388 $10,950 $37,960 11-26

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum duration of the minimum weekly benefit amount are
the same as the wage and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See Table 3-3.) Some states will
extend duration under certain circumstances; see chapter 4 for additional information. Additionally, in states where the benefit entitlement is
calculated using multi-quarter, annual wage, or average weekly wage formulas the high quarter cell is shown as N/A as no specific level of wages is
required to exist in the high quarter pursuant to state law.
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TABLE 3-11: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential : : Duration
State : o Wage credits required
Entitlement Beneflts.1 Amounts? (Weeks)
Amount High quarter | Base period

! Minimum potential benefit amounts shown above are calculated by multiplying the minimum weekly benefit amount by the minimum duration,
claimant may qualify for additional benefits based upon minimum monetary eligibility requirements.

2 When 2 amounts are given, higher includes dependents.

3 Effective October 1, 2010 the maximum WBA will increase to $430. The HQW on October 1, 2010 will be >$10,296 and the BPW will be
$15,480.

* To qualify for 28 weeks, individual’s ratio of total base period wages to HQ wages must be at least 3.5.

> The BPW can be comprised of both insured and non-insured wages. To be eligible for the maximum WBA, only $9,890 of the $14,900 of BPW
must be taxable.

% With some limited exceptions, individuals with significant ownership interest in family partnerships, LLCs and corporations, and certain of their
family members, are limited to 4 weeks of regular Ul benefits.

SEASONAL EMPLOYMENT AND BENEFITS

Special provisions are found in several states’ laws restricting the payment of benefits to workers who
earned some or a substantial part of their base-period wages for employers whose operations take place only
during certain seasons of the year.

In these provisions, the term seasonal is defined - either in the statute or in the rules or regulations
implementing the statute - in terms of:

 the industry, employer, or occupation involved;
« the wages earned during the operating period of the employer or industry; and
o the worker.

In most states, the designation of seasonal industries, occupations, or employers and the beginning and
ending dates of their seasons is made in accordance with a formal procedure, following action initiated by the Ul
agency or upon application by the employers or workers involving hearings and presentation of supporting data.
Arkansas law provides that any employer classified as a seasonal employer may request not to be treated as a
seasonal employer.

In other states, a seasonal pursuit, industry, or employer is defined as one in which, because of climatic
conditions or the seasonal nature of the employment, it is customary to operate only during a regularly recurring
period or periods of less than a specified number of weeks: 16 weeks in Massachusetts; 26 weeks in Colorado;
26 weeks in Indiana; 26 weeks in Maine (except for seasonal lodging facilities, variety store or trading post,
restaurants and camps, where a period of less than 26 weeks applies); 26 weeks in Michigan, 26 weeks in Ohio;
and 36 weeks in North Carolina.

In general, the restrictions on the payment of benefits to workers employed during the operating periods
of these seasonal industries fall into one of two groups.

1. The most frequent restriction provides that wage credits earned in seasonal employment are available
for payment of benefits only for weeks of unemployment in the benefit year that fall within the operating period
of the employer or industry where they were earned. Wage credits earned in non-seasonal work or in
employment with a seasonal employer outside the operating period are available for payment of benefits at any
time in the benefit year. The states with this type of provision are listed below, together with the definitions of
“seasonal worker” to whom the restrictions apply.
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TABLE 3-12: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON

Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times the
weekly benefit amount, if worker's seasonal

. . . For employment in transient lodging onl
wages were earned in an industry with an Of emp oyme sient lodging only,

Some seasonal wages
no benefits based on seasonal wages &

AR | operating period of 2-6 months; or (b) less than | AZ . . . CO | in operating period of
. ; during the off-season if unemployment is .
24 times the weekly benefit amount, if seasonal . . . seasonal industry.
. . . due to substantial slowdown in operations.
wages were earned in an industry with an
operating period of 7-8 months.
Some seasonal wages in operating period of Some seasonal wages in operating period Some sea}sonal Wages
IN ME MA | in operating period of
seasonal employer. or seasonal employer. .
seasonal industry.
Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times
the weekly benefit amount, if worker's
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton
N . o
Wages must be within seasonal period of 26 ginning 1ndustq or prpfessmnal baseba.ll 25 A; or more of base .
. : with an operating period of 6-26 weeks; or period wages earned in
MI | weeks or less. Designation of employment as MS - NC . .
. (b) less than 24 times the weekly benefit operating period of
seasonal is voluntary. . .
amount, if seasonal wages were earned in a seasonal employer.
cotton ginning industry or professional
baseball with an operating period of 27-36
weeks.
Seasonal wages for less than 180 days of S .
. . . . . . . ome wages earned in
Some seasonal wages earned in operating work in operating period. Applies only if . .
OH . PA SD | operating period of
period of seasonal employer. reasonable assurance of reemployment
. seasonal employer.
exists.
2. Other states have established differing seasonal provisions, which are listed below.
TABLE 3-13: OTHER SEASONAL PROVISIONS
DE Individual with 75% or more of base period earnings in seasonal employment — defined as the processing of agricultural or seafood
products - will be eligible only if the individual had been employed in the corresponding month of the base period.
WV Individual working less than 100 days in seasonal employment is not eligible unless the individual has non-seasonal employment of at
least $100.
WI Individual working less than 90 days for a seasonal employer is not eligible unless the individual is paid wages of $500 or more by at

least one other employer.

DEDUCTIONS AND WITHHOLDING FROM BENEFITS

Under Federal law, Ul must be paid to a worker as a matter of right and may not be intercepted to

satisfy debts or other obligations. However, Federal law provides some exceptions to this requirement and these
are discussed below.

OVERPAYMENTS—ALII states reduce Ul otherwise payable to recover earlier overpayments of UIl. See
Chapter 6 for more information on this topic.

CHILD SUPPORT—Federal law requires states to deduct child support obligations from UI only when the
obligations are enforced by the state child support agency.

OVERISSUANCES OF FOOD STAMPS—If the worker owes an uncollected over-issuance of Food Stamps,
states may deduct such amount from Ul benefits payable. The table below indicates which state laws provide
for these deductions. However, all of these states do not necessarily make these deductions; it depends on
whether the state Ul and Food Stamp agencies have entered into agreements.
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TABLE 3-14: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVER-ISSUANCES

State State State State State State State State
AL X AK AZ X AR X CA CO X CT DE | X
DC FL GA X HI X ID IL X IN IA | X
KS X KY LA X ME X MD MA X MI MN
MS MO | X MT X NE X NV NH X NJ X NM | X
NY X NC ND OH OK X OR PA PR
RI SC SD X N X TX X UT X VT X VI | X
VA X | WA wv WI wY X

INCOME TAX—Federal law requires states to offer workers the opportunity to voluntarily have Federal
income tax withheld from Ul benefits at the rate of 10 percent. Federal law also permits states to withhold state
and local income tax from UI benefits. The following table indicates which states offer workers the opportunity
to have state (and/or local) income taxes withheld.

TABLE 3-15: WITHHOLDING STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAX AT CLAIMANT OPTION

State | State | Local | State | State | Local [ State [ State | Local | State | State | Local State State Local
AZ X CO X CT X X DE X X DC X X
GA X HI X x! ID X IL X 1A X
KS X X KY X ME X X MD X MA X
MI x? MN X MS X X NE X NH X X
NM | X X NY X X NC X ND X OK X’

OR X RI X SC X TN X UuT X
VT | X WV | X WI X

! Local income taxes deducted and withheld from the worker's UI for other states and localities.
2 If Federal taxes are elected to be withheld from UI benefits, then state taxes will be withheld as well.

HEALTHCARE COVERAGE—Illinois and Oklahoma law authorize the deduction of health insurance
premiums from the UI weekly benefit amount if the worker so elects, provided that the state has an approved
health care plan for unemployed workers. However, neither state has implemented this authority.
Massachusetts has a health insurance program for unemployed workers; however, it is unrelated to the Ul
program.
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