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U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
Employment and Training Administration 

Washington, D.C. 20210 
 

REPORT ON STATE LEGISLATION  
 

Cumulative Report CY 2019 
 
This report summarizes recent amendments to state Unemployment Insurance laws and 
regulations.  It is one of three regularly-provided reports from the Office of Unemployment 
Insurance (OUI) Division of Legislation.  It may be used in conjunction with the Significant 
Provisions of State Unemployment Insurance Laws and The Comparison of State Unemployment 
Insurance Laws.  An index of topics that can be cross-referenced to chapters in the Comparison is 
found at the end of this document. 
 
The Report on State Legislation is issued solely for informational, reference, and research 
purposes.  It is not an official interpretation of state UI laws.  The state statutes and regulations 
should be consulted for the full text. 
 
Any comments or corrections may be directed to one of the following staff: John Schuettinger at 
202-693-2680, Julie Balster at 202-693-3615, or Tiffany Agnew at 202-693-2998. 
 
State-specific information on filing a UI claim, employment assistance, or employer information is 
available online at 
https://www.careeronestop.org/localhelp/unemploymentbenefits/unemployment-benefits.aspx. 
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ALABAMA   AAC 480-1-4   ADOPTED:  August 6, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  August 26, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Changes the name and address of the division within the Alabama Department of Labor where 
appeals must be filed. 
 
Provides that appeals shall be filed in writing and include the facts alleged and the grounds upon 
which a review is sought. 
 
Repeals the provision allowing appeals to be filed in person or by telephone. 
 
Provides that appeals may be heard using the teleconferencing method 
 
 
ALABAMA    AAC 480-4-3-.15  ADOPTED:  August 6, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  August 29, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides an exception to seeking full-time work for persons with disabilities, so long as they 
establish a reasonable and active effort to secure work similar to their previous history, experience, 
and training and which is supported by medical documentation. 
 
 
ALABAMA   AAC 480-4-2.23  ADOPTED:  September 5, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  September 27, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Provides that if an employer fails to submit a written request to protest liability within 15 days of 
the date the notice of determination is mailed, the determination will become final.    
 
Provides that newly liable and successor employers may appeal liability decisions to the Circuit 
Court.  Limits scope of review when employer protests a change in liability date, tax rate notice, or 
assessment to not include another opportunity to protest liability.   
 
Reduces time limit for employers to request a review of quarterly benefit charges from 90 days to 
30 days from the date of notification. 
 
Adds time limits and appeal requirements for employers that disagree with Department-issued 
worker classification determinations. 
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Financing 
 
Requires the issuance of an assessment of the amount due for employers that fail to properly report 
payroll information or that make an incorrect, incomplete, or insufficient report.   
 
 
ALABAMA   SB 193    ENACTED:  May 21, 2019 
    Act No. 2019-204  EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Reduces duration from a maximum of 26 weeks to a duration ranging from 14 to 20 weeks.  Ties 
duration to state's average unemployment rate.  If state's average unemployment rate is at or below 
6.5 percent, duration will be 14 weeks. Duration increases by one week for each 0.5 percent 
increase in state's average unemployment rate, to a maximum of 20 weeks. Duration would be the 
lesser of 14-20 times the weekly benefit amount (WBA) or one-fourth of base period wages. 
 
Provides that the weekly benefit amount WBA will be based on an equal division of the current 
weeks compensated. 
 
Increases the maximum WBA from $265 to $275, effective for benefit years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020.   
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that an individual who is enrolled in and making satisfactory progress in an approved job 
training or certification program for a high wage, high demand occupation is entitled to an 
additional five weeks of benefits.   
 
Reduces the minimum disqualification for a voluntary quit from six times the WBA to three times 
the WBA; the maximum disqualification is reduced to nine times the WBA from twelve times the 
WBA. 
 
Reduces the minimum disqualification for an individual discharged for misconduct from four 
weeks to two weeks (the week of discharge and the following week); the maximum 
disqualification (including the week of discharge) is reduced from eight weeks to four weeks. 
 
Reduces the maximum period of disqualification for failure to accept suitable work from ten weeks 
from the date of failure to five weeks. 
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ALASKA   8 AAC 85   ADOPTED:  June 19, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  July 19, 2019 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Requires, as a condition of canceling a monetary determination and benefit year, that an individual 
has terminated any disqualification for false statement or misrepresentation 
 
Provides that if an individual does not have enough benefit credits for a regular base period, but 
has sufficient credits for a regular base period in another state, a claim must be filed with that state. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Defines a customary commutable area, for purposes of assessing able and available status when a 
claimant travels, as an area where a claimant customarily commutes to and from work each day. 
 
 
ARKANSAS   HB 1522   ENACTED:  March 13, 2019 
    Act No. 462   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that if an employer's business was closed solely because of the entrance of one or more of 
the owners, officers, partners, or the majority stockholder into state active duty with the Arkansas 
National Guard, the employer's account will, for experience rating purposes, not be considered as 
terminated. If the employer resumes the business within one year after the discharge or release 
from state active duty, the employer's experience shall be deemed to have been continuous through 
the closed period. 
 
 
ARKANSAS   HB 1850   ENACTED:  April 16, 2019 
    Act No. 1055   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Provides that an employer or agency charged with determining the employment status of an 
individual shall use the twenty-factor test enumerated by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) in 
making its determination. 
 
Amends definition of employment to mean service performed by an individual for an employer for 
wages in a lawful business, industry, trade, profession, or enterprise, and the individual’s 
employment status has been determined by consideration of the twenty-factor test. 
 
 
  



 

5 

 

ARKANSAS   SB 297    ENACTED:  March 8, 2019 
    Act No. 374   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2019 
Financing 
 
Permits the Department of Workforce Services Special Fund, which consists of interest and 
penalty payments collected from contributions and overpayments, to be used for refunds of interest 
and penalties erroneously paid and other additional purposes determined to be necessary to the 
proper administration of the Arkansas Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), the 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, the Arkansas Works Act of 2016, and any 
other programs under the direction and supervision of the Department of Workforce Services. 
 
 
ARKANSAS   SB 298    ENACTED:  March 19, 2019 
    Act No. 512   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2020 
Financing 
 
Adjusts taxable wage base according to the average seasonal unadjusted insured unemployment 
rate for the period of July 1 through June 30 of the most recently completed state fiscal year as 
follows: 

• $7,000 or the Federal taxable wage base, if the rate is 0% to 1%; 
• $8,000 or $1,000 above the Federal taxable wage base, if the rate is 1.01% to 1.49%;  
• $9,000 or $2,000 above the Federal taxable wage base, if the rate is 1.5% to 2.19%; 
• $10,000 or $3,000 above the Federal taxable wage base, if the rate is 2.20% or greater. 

 
The taxable wage base will be $11,000 if disbursements from the trust fund exceed $200 million 
and the balance of the trust fund is less than $600 million.  The taxable wage base will be $12,000 
if disbursements from the trust fund exceed $250 million and the balance of the trust fund is less 
than $400 million.  
 
Taxable wage base adjustments are effective for the calendar year beginning after December 31, 
2019. 
 

ARKANSAS    SB 299    ENACTED:  March 13, 2019 
    Act No. 453   EFFECTIVE:  October 1, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that any portion of the fraud penalty in excess of 15 percent shall be deposited into the UI 
Integrity Fund subaccount in the Department of Workforces Services Special Fund, to be used 
exclusively for integrity activities. 
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Monetary Entitlement 

 
Increases the number of weeks of wages, subsequent to filing the claim for the previous benefit 
year, required to requalify for benefits on a succeeding benefit year claim from eight weeks to ten 
weeks.  Requires that such wages are from insured work. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that light duty work is considered suitable for a worker on approved medical leave from 
their employer due to the unavailability of light-duty work unless the majority of the number of 
weeks of work during the period used to determine monetary eligibility were spent performing 
work that the worker is currently unable to perform due to medical restrictions. 
 
Requires 30 days of work, subsequent to the effective date of a disqualification for voluntary quit, 
discharge for misconduct, and refusal of suitable work, for an individual to qualify for benefits. 
 
Provides that a partial week of separation pay shall be treated as a payment for a full week of 
separation in applying a disqualification for separation pay. 
 
Overpayments 
 
Increases the required weeks of wages to requalify for benefits from 10 weeks to 20 weeks from 
the effective date of the disqualification for fraud.  In addition, any weekly benefits payable 
subsequent to the determination and within the same benefit year of the fraud are terminated.   
 
Increases the period of time for which a fraud disqualification will not be applied from two and 
one-half years to five years from the date of delivery or mailing of the determination. 
 
Adds provision that disqualifies an individual until benefits collected fraudulently, as well as any 
other penalties, interest, and costs assessed, are repaid.   
 
Increases the penalty for fraudulent overpayments from 15 percent to 50 percent.  Provides for a 
reduction in the penalty to 15 percent if the overpayment is repaid within 30 days of the mailing 
date of the determination. 
 
Allows for waiver of recovery if the overpayment was received as a direct result of an error by the 
agency and its recovery would be against equity and good conscience. 
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ARKANSAS    SB 300    ENACTED:  March 13, 2019 
    Act No. 454   EFFECTIVE:  March 13, 2019 
Financing 
 
Extends the collection period of the stabilization tax from June 30, 2019 to June 30, 2023. 
 
 
ARKANSAS    SB 302    ENACTED:  March 8, 2019 
    Act No. 375   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that 15 percent of the penalty assessed on all fraudulent overpayments will be credited to 
the unemployment compensation fund, and the remainder shall be credited to a new subaccount in 
the Department of Workforce Services Special Fund. Funds in the subaccount will be used solely 
for activities to protect the integrity of the unemployment insurance program that are necessary to 
the proper administration of the program.  Requires the director to report to the Legislative Council 
on a quarterly basis regarding all uses of the subaccount. 
* NOTE: See SB 299 regarding the UI integrity Fund subaccount.   
 
 
ARKANSAS    SB 303    ENACTED:  March 13, 2019 
    Act No. 455   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2019 
Financing 
 
Amends employer penalty provision to include situations when the employer files a timely 
quarterly wage report reflecting no wages were paid, but then subsequently files an amended 
quarterly wage report that reflects the required employee information and is filed more than 20 
days after its due date. 
 
 
ARKANSAS    SB 589    ENACTED:  April 12, 2019 
    Act No. 936   EFFECTIVE:  July 24, 2019 
Administration 
 
Adds the Directors of the Department of Workforce Services and the Office of Skills Development 
to the Data and Transparency Panel.  Adds a duty to develop a unified longitudinal system that 
links existing agency information for education and workforce outcomes to conduct a business 
assessment to: 

• develop an improved understanding of individual outcomes resulting from education and 
workforce activities;  

• identify opportunities for using real-time information; and  
• continuously align programs and resources to the evolving economy of the state. 
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CALIFORNIA   AB 5    ENACTED:  September 18, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-296  EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Codifies the classification test to determine if a worker is an employee or an independent 
contractor of a hiring entity.  Provides that a person shall be considered an employee rather than 
independent contractor unless all of the following conditions (known as the ABC test) are 
satisfied: 

• A: Be free of control and direction of the hiring entity in connection with the work 
performed, 

• B: Perform work outside the usual course of business of the hiring entity, and 
• C: Customarily perform work independently in an established trade, occupation, or 

business.  
   
For specific occupations or if it is determined that the ABC test cannot be applied to a particular 
context in order to determine employment status, then the determination of employee or 
independent contractor status shall be governed by the California Supreme Court's decision in S. 
G. Borello & Sons, Inc. v. Department of Industrial Relations (Otherwise known as the Borello 
test). 
 
 
CALIFORNIA   AB 170   ENACTED:  October 2, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-415  EFFECTIVE:  October 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Continues the determination that a newspaper distributor under contract with a newspaper 
publisher or a newspaper carrier working under a contract either with a newspaper publisher or a 
newspaper distributor, is governed under the existing Borello test until January 1, 2021. 
 
 
CALIFORNIA   AB 378   ENACTED:  September 30, 2019 
    Chaptered 2019-385  EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Provides that family childcare providers are not public employees and no employer-employee 
relationship exists between the provider and the state when providers administers state-funded 
programs. 
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CALIFORNIA  AB 406   ENACTED:  September 30, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-386  EFFECTIVE: January 1, 2020                                                                                                                 
 
Temporary Disability Insurance 
 
Requires the Employment Development Department to distribute the application for temporary 
disability insurance (TDI) benefits in all non-English languages spoken by a substantial number of 
non-English speaking applicants as defined by code.   
 
 
CALIFORNIA   AB 593   ENACTED:  October 8, 2019 
    Chaptered 2019-611  EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Administration 
 
Allows the chief elected official of local workforce investment areas access to confidential 
Unemployment Insurance wage records and quarterly wage data, to the extent permitted by state 
and federal laws and regulations, to fulfill specific reporting requirements and evaluations of 
workforce investment programs. 
 
 
CALIFORNIA   AB 991   ENACTED:  October 3, 2019 
    UIC 3302.1   EFFECTIVE 1:  October 3, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE 2: January 1, 2021 
Temporary Disability Insurance 
 
Renumbers the section for “disability benefit period” as it relates to temporary disability insurance 
(TDI) benefits, and adds that the section will be repealed on January 1, 2021. 
 
Adds the term “Covered Active Duty” and adds the term to the list of situations in which a 
claimant may be covered under TDI benefits.  Adds that the new definition of “disability benefit 
period”, which includes the term “covered active duty”, will be operative January 1, 2021. 
 
 
CALIFORNIA   AB 1296   ENACTED:  October 8, 2019 
    Chaptered 2019-626  EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Administration 
 
Allows the Joint Enforcement Strike Force on the Underground Economy to have access to 
quarterly wage data to the extent permitted by state and federal laws and regulations to fulfill 
specified investigative requirements. 
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CALIFORNIA   AB 1340   ENACTED:  October 4, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-519  EFFECTIVE: January 1, 2020 
Administration 
 
Provides that the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education within the Department of Consumer 
Affairs have access to any quarterly wage data to the extent permitted by state and federal laws and 
regulations to fulfill specified evaluation and reporting requirements. 
 
 
CALIFORNIA   SB 83    ENACTED:  June 27, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-24  EFFECTIVE:  June 27, 2019 
Administration 
 
Establishes a tracking system to enable the collection of discrimination and harassment complaint 
data across state agencies and provides that each agency shall be charged to recover the costs for 
maintenance and support of the system. 
 
Temporary Disability Insurance 
 
Decreases the rate of worker contributions from 1.45 to 1.30 times the disbursements from the 
Disability Fund during the preceding calendar year, effective July 1, 2019.  
 
Increases wage replacement benefits from six weeks to eight weeks for workers who take time off 
to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a minor child within one year of birth, 
foster care placement, or adoption, under the Family Temporary Disability program. 
 
 
COLORADO   7 CCR 1101-2   ADOPTED:  February 22, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  April 15, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Amends rules for appeal hearings by removing references to appearing in person.  Provides that 
parties and witnesses to an appeal hearing shall ordinarily participate by telephone. 
 
 
DELAWARE   HB 148   ENACTED:  June 30, 2019 
    Chapter 81   EFFECTIVE:  June 30, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes technical changes regarding delivery of notifications and appeals procedures. 
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DELAWARE   HB 149   ENACTED:  June 30, 2019 
    Chapter 82   EFFECTIVE:  August 29, 2019 
Overpayments 
 
Amends the repayment and penalty sections that pertain to overpayment of benefits, including that 
the Department may not collect interest on a nonfraud overpayment. 
 
Adds provision that disqualifies individuals that have outstanding overpayment debts due to fraud 
until the amount has been paid in full, including penalty and interest amounts.   
 
Adds that Department may offset the principal of overpayment debts with subsequently awarded 
benefits, first towards the principal of any fraud overpayment debts, and then to the principal of 
any nonfraud overpayment debts. 
 
 
DELAWARE   HB 198   ENACTED:  June 30, 2019 
    Chapter 80   EFFECTIVE:  June 30, 2019 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Increases the maximum WBA from $330 to $400, effective for benefit years beginning on or after 
June 30, 2019.   
 
 
DELAWARE   SB 127    ENACTED:  July 17, 2019 
    Chapter 128   EFFECTIVE:  July 17, 2019 
Financing 
 
Changes the penalty for an employer that neglects or refuses to file a required report. 
 
 
DELAWARE   SB 128    ENACTED:  July 17, 2019 
    Chapter 129   EFFECTIVE:  July 17, 2019 
Overpayments 
 
Expands the collection procedures available to collect unpaid unemployment insurance tax 
assessments from employers.  These procedures include obtaining warrants for the levy and sale of 
property; extending liens; garnishment of wages, bank accounts, and other property.   
 
Provides for denying or suspending professional licenses for persons owing an overpayment of 
benefits or unemployment compensation tax assessments. 
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DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA  CR 572 and 573 ENACTED:  December 3, 2019 
     CDC 51-107  EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Increases the maximum WBA from $438 to $444, effective for benefit years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020.   
 
 
FLORIDA     FAC 73B-20   ADOPTED:  July 16, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  August 5, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Addresses new forms for filing notices of appeal and changes specific information required in an 
appeal request.  Updates references for timeliness of filing based on distribution method for 
determination and method of appeal submission. 
 
Amends rules for appeal hearings by scheduling telephone conferences unless exception for in-
person hearing is granted. 
 
Provides that a referee may reserve ruling on the issue of timeliness and proceed with the merits 
portion of the hearing when the late-filing party has made an initial showing that the appeal should 
be deemed timely. 
 
Defines how to request a continuance. 
 
Requires any party to a hearing to call at least 24 hours before the scheduled hearing to confirm 
attendance and provide a phone number for the hearing.    
 
Defines how corrections are made after a decision has been distributed. 
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FLORIDA   HB 563   ENACTED:  June 7, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-80  EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that an employer will not be charged for benefits paid to an individual who separated 
from work as a direct result of domestic violence. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that an individual is not disqualified for voluntarily leaving work if he or she proves that 
the reason for leaving work is a direct result of circumstances related to domestic violence.  
Provides that an individual with an accepted voluntary leaving separation due to domestic violence 
will be held ineligible for any week in which he or she no longer meets the criteria or refuses a 
reasonable accommodation offered in good faith by the employer. 
 
 
GEORGIA    HB 373   ENACTED:  May 6, 2019 
    Act No. 185   EFFECTIVE:  May 6, 2019 
Administration 
 
Authorizes the Commissioner of Labor to require a criminal background check on any individual 
employed or making application for employment to the Department of Labor who will have direct 
access to federal tax return information as part of the individual’s regular job duties. 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
For claims filed on or after July 1, 2019: 

• changes the beginning of a benefit year to the Sunday the claim is filed or the Sunday prior 
to the day the claim is filed, rather than the day the claim is filed; and 

• increases the minimum weekly benefit amount from $44 to $55 and the maximum weekly 
benefit amount from $330 to $365.    

 
Overpayments 
 
For overpayments resulting from fraud that are established on or after July 1, 2019, the individual 
is ineligible for any unpaid benefits during the quarter in which the finding is made and for the 
next four calendar quarters. 
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IDAHO    IDAPA 09.01.30  ADOPTED:  February 8, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  March 6, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Creates a temporary rule that allows claimants to attend training out of the area under specific 
circumstances, pending final rule and statutory change for 2020 Legislative Session.   
 
 
IDAHO   IDAPA 09.01.01, .02, & .05 ADOPTED:  June 19, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  June 30, 2019 
 
Administration 
 
Edits office contact information and methods throughout.   
 
Adds references to legal authority for rule making, declaratory rulings, determinations, and 
appeals.  Added sections to reference administrative appeals, public records compliance, and 
payments owed to the agency.   
 
Adds the option for claimants to file eligibility reports over the telephone.   
 
Edits definitions of “Public Official”, “Elected Official”, and “Agent” in the regulations that 
handle the disclosure of Employment Security Information.   
 
Edits the provision that pertains to written agreements to release information to the public.   
  
Edits the provisions that pertain to proper handling of confidential wage information by recipients.   
 
Appeals 
 
Changes the code citation for administrative appeals from 09.01.06 to 09.01.01, throughout.   
 
Consolidates various appeals provisions into a new stand-alone appeals section, including role of 
appeals examiner, the conduct of a hearing, communication with appeals staff, and the review of 
appeals by the Industrial Commission.   
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Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 
Edits the definition of “Illness Provision”, removes refusal of suitable work due to illness criteria 
and formula.   
 
Removes the defined terms “Alternate Permanent Work” and “Prospects for Work”. 
 
Edits the term “Reestablishing Eligibility After a Determination of Ineligibility” to remove 
language about the number of weeks needed in covered employment to reestablish eligibility.   
 
Adds a definition for “Quit Due to Harassment” to the list of acceptable quit provisions. This new 
definition encompasses sexual harassment.   
 
Removes section on voluntary leaving due to sexual harassment.   
 
Adds that a claimant must provide a license, or be capable of obtaining a license or permit, if 
required by law for performance of the work.   
 
Increases the training waiver from one year to two years for claimants enrolled in training under 
the Trade Adjustment Assistance program.   
 
 
ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2720   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes technical changes to the rule to reflect telephonic and internet claims filing and employer 
protests related to claims. 
 
Provides that the “last known address” for an individual is the address provided on the application 
unless the individual informs the Department through specified methods.   
 
Requires Social Security Numbers for each of the claimant’s dependent children when filing a 
claim. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2725   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Administration 
 
Adds provisions regarding employer’s last known address, including updating the last known 
address based on information provided by the United States Postal Service.  Provides parameters 
for posting electronic notices using the online tax system.  Allows employers to update their 
notification preferences address through electronic means.   
 
Allows for electronic signature of employer submissions to the agency.   
 
Appeals 
 
Provides the employer 30 days to file any additional information regarding an application for rate 
determination, appeal, protest, claim adjustment or refund, or claim objection, as long as the initial 
application was filed timely. 
 
Financing 
 
Provides instructions for non-profit organizations and government entities to elect or to terminate 
its election for making payments in lieu of contributions to the trust fund.     
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2732   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Administration 
 
Provides that a transfer of contributions involving employee leasing companies can be submitted 
online through the state’s tax system. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2760   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Administration 
 
Provides that the Employer’s Contribution and Wage Report form for employers not subject to the 
mandatory electronic reporting requirement will be made available online.  
 
Provides that employers seeking to correct quarterly wage record information previously submitted 
can do so via mail or online, however, monthly wage report corrections may not be made by mail. 
 
Provides that employers that mail in contributions must include a Payment Voucher, which is also 
available online, with their contribution. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2765   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides for transferring contributions when wages are erroneously assigned to an employee 
leasing company’s account instead of to the client account, and the client is unable to obtain the 
assistance of the employee leasing company to have the contributions moved.   
 
Provides additional examples for requests to waive interest accrued upon unpaid contributions.  
Amends parameters under which reporting penalties may be waived. 
 
Adds a new formula for calculating experience rating in the event of covered employee transfers. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2790   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Financing 
 
Increases disregard for employer total amounts payable from $1 to $2, including contributions, 
payments in lieu of contributions, and interest or penalties.   
 
Requires, with specific exceptions, that employers are responsible for any fees associated with the 
recording of a lien. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2830   ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  January 15, 2019 
Administration 
 
Repeals references to the issuance of benefit checks and instead provides for debit cards or direct 
deposit to be used in processing payment of unemployment insurance benefits. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   77 IAC 955.290  ADOPTED:  March 15, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  March 1, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that health care employers are not charged for unemployment insurances benefits paid to 
claimants that were separated from employment due to an offense discovered in a criminal back 
ground check or due to a violation of employer’s state mandated drug policy. 
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ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2712   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Clarifies that all claimants are eligible for legal services, not just those whose claims were denied. 
 
 
ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2714   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Updates references to the form used when an employer localizes coverage in Illinois. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2720   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Adds definitions for the following terms: “Call Center”, “CMS” (Central Management System), 
“Department”, and “Internet Filer”. 
 
Adds the option for a party to receive notices, decisions, or orders electronically. 
 
Repeals outdated references to payments made under the Trade Adjustment Assistance and 
Alternative Trade Adjustment Assistance programs.   
 
Limits filing, registering, and reporting by mail only to individuals who have no access to a 
telephone or the internet, among other parameters.   
 
Appeals 
 
Provides that documents must be provided by mail or facsimile to a referee and any opponents in a 
hearing.  Describes purpose of including agency email address on hearing notice and provides that 
any documents emailed to a referee will not be considered.   
 
Clarifies the rules of evidence through examples.   
 
Provides requirements for inspecting or requesting a transcript or copy of the file of a hearing.   
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 
Adds that a claimant shall furnish work search records when the Department conducts a random 
work search audit of the claimant’s claim. 
 
 
ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2725   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Makes technical changes to the rule. 
 
Excludes the date a ruling or order is mailed or delivered from the computation time for taking 
action related to an appeal. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2730   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Financing 
 
Amends rules identifying the employer for sick pay reporting purposes. 
 
Clarifies what constitutes sick pay for wage reporting requirements. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2732   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes technical changes to the rule. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2760   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes minor language changes to sections that cover employers general obligations, reports, and 
record keeping.  Updates language on records retention to allow for modern forms of record 
keeping. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2765   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Financing 
 
Adds a waiver of penalty for the untimely filing of wage records by an employer, as long as it is 
the employer’s first late report in 20 calendar quarters (inclusive of quarters during which an 
employer was not required to file). 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2770   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Financing 
 
Repeals the use of the North American Industry Classification System to determine contributions 
rates. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2835   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Overpayments 
 
Provides that a request for a waiver of recoupment must be made in person, online, or through the 
state’s Teleserve system.  Previously waiver requests must have been made in person. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2840   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Makes non-substantive changes to the language defining what constitutes employee misconduct. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2865   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes minor language changes to sections that cover claimant eligibility for benefits.   
 
 
ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2905   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Makes technical changes to eligibility provisions related to aliens. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2915   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes minor technical changes, and citation changes, to the between and within terms portion of 
Illinois regulations. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2720   ADOPTED:  January 4, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Provides that documents must be provided by mail or facsimile to a referee and any opponents in a 
hearing.   
 
Further provides that any documents emailed to a referee will not be considered.   
 
Provides that the email address included on a hearing notice is only to request an in-person 
hearing, provide contact information, request a continuance, or request a reopening.   
 
Provides that emails should use claimant identification number or hearing docket number. 
 
Provides that emails should not use Social Security Numbers.       
 
Provides that an email request for continuance received after the hearing has concluded will be 
treated as a request for reopening. 
 
 
ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2725   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Makes technical changes to the rule. 
 
Clarifies that parties are to appear for benefit hearings by phone, unless a party has elected 
otherwise. 
  
Excludes the date a ruling or order is mailed or delivered from the computation time for taking 
action related to an appeal. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2730   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Financing 
 
Amends the rule for determining whom the employer for reporting sick pay wages is when 
administered by a third party. 
 
Clarifies what constitutes sick pay for wage reporting requirements. 
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2732   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Removes obsolete references. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2760   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Updates language on records retention to allow for modern forms of record keeping, along with 
minor language changes. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2765   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Removes obsolete references. 
 
Financing 
 
Adds a waiver of penalty for the untimely filing of wage records by an employer when it is the 
employer’s first late report in 20 calendar quarters. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2770   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Financing 
 
Removes the publication of the contribution rate determination chart based on North American 
Industry Classification System (NAICS) from regulation.   
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2835   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Overpayments 
 
Adds option to request for a waiver of recoupment online or through the state’s Teleserve system.   
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ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2840   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Removes obsolete references. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2865   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes minor language changes to sections that cover claimant eligibility for benefits.   
 
 
ILLINOIS    56 IAC 2905   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Removes obsolete references. 
 
 
ILLINOIS   56 IAC 2915   ADOPTED:  May 31, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  May 14, 2019 
Administration 
 
Removes obsolete references. 
 
 
ILLINOIS    S 1899    ENACTED:  August 16, 2019 
    Chapter 423   EFFECTIVE:  Varied 
Administration 
 
Provides that the Illinois Department of Labor may attend or promote hiring events where 
attendees must pay an entry fee, provided that the Department does not receive any portion of said 
fees.  
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EFFECTIVE: August 16, 2019 
 
Financing 
 
Increases the adjusted state experience factor from 21 percent to 22 percent beginning January 1, 
2022. 
 
Creates a lien registry effective January 1, 2020 consisting of debts from an employer or individual 
against whom there is an unpaid determination and assessment collectible by the director.    
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Increases the maximum WBA for a claimant with a non-working spouse from 49.3 percent to 49.6 
percent of the state average weekly wage, effective for benefit years beginning on or after January 
1, 2022. 
 
Increases the maximum WBA for a claimant with a dependent child or children from 40.3 percent 
to 40.6 percent of the state average weekly wage plus the dependent child allowance rate, effective 
for benefit years beginning on or after January 1, 2022.   
 
 
INDIANA      646 IAC 5   ADOPTED:  March 27, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  March 30, 2019 
Administration 
 
Enhances quarterly wage reports to include whether the employee is considered full-time or part-
time, designated as a seasonal worker, was employed during a specific day of the month, and the 
employee’s occupation.   
 
Provides that employer notifications will be through electronic means unless an employer elects to 
receive notices by mail.  Requires an employer provide current, accurate contact information and 
to notify the department within 15 days of a change of mailing or e-mail address. 
 
Electronic payments may be required by the department. 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that late filed claims can be accepted if the individual experienced a verified medical 
emergency or was unable to file a claim due to an administrative error by the department.  
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Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that an individual who performed some volitional act or exercises some control over the 
circumstances resulting from discharge from employment may be a breach of duty and result in 
disqualification from benefits. 
 
Requires an individual to respond completely to all inquiries from the department to be eligible for 
benefits. 
 
Appeals 
 
Allows for the notice of hearing to be sent to a claimant’s last known address or self-service 
system.  Allows a request to subpoena a witness in writing or by phone. 
 
Requires an accountant representing an employer before an administrative law judge to be in good 
standing with the Indiana board of accountancy.   
 
Allows that an attorney admitted to the bar in another state who has been granted temporary 
admission to the state bar may represent a party before an administrative law judge. 
 
Changes the number of days for a party to provide exhibits from four days to three days prior to 
the hearing date. 
 
 
INDIANA    HB 1062    ENACTED:  April 29, 2019 
    Chapter 122-2019   EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Administration 
 
Amends the unemployment insurance code to reflect the use of technology. 
 
Provides that disclosure of confidential information may be made to an individual or employer 
upon proper identification, through informed consent, to a public official, an agent or contractor of 
a public official, or to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Requires that the requesting party pay the 
cost of providing the information.  
 
Financing 
 
Provides that recalculated employer contribution rates are effective on the first day of the calendar 
year during which the transfer occurred if the transfer takes place before April 1; for transfers that 
occur after March 31, the rates are effective the subsequent year. 
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Provides that up to $10,000,000 from the state’s employment and training fund, which includes 
interest on delinquent contributions and penalties collected, may be used for prevention, detection, 
and recovery of delinquent contributions, penalties, and improper benefit payments. 
 
Overpayments 
 
Applies existing time frame limitation to notify of a possible overpayment within four years of the 
discovery to also cover overpayments due to false statements, failure to disclose a material fact, or 
failure to report wages.  Requires civil action to commence no later than ten years following the 
date a determination becomes final, including the exhaustion of appeals. 
 
 
INDIANA   SB 130     ENACTED:  April 24, 2019 
    Pub. Law 63-2019   EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Provides that a driver providing drive-away operations is an independent contractor, not an 
employee, when the vehicle being driven is the commodity being delivered and the driver has a 
written agreement that specifies that the driver is not an employee.  If the employer is a state or 
local government entity, a federally recognized Indian tribe or a nonprofit organization, this 
provision is not applicable. 
 
 
INDIANA   SB 231                ENACTED:  April 3, 2019 
    Pub. Law 7-2019              EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Provides that the definition of an employee does not include a person engaged in services as a 
direct seller, provided the individual sells or solicits the sale of consumer products or services in 
any place other than a retail establishment; is paid directly based on sales or output rather than the 
number of hours worked; and has a written contract that provides that the individual is not an 
employee. 
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IOWA    IAC 871-23; -24; -25  ADOPTED:  November 15, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE: January 22, 2020 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that claimants shall report the first five workdays of applicable vacation pay, rather than 
first week.  Vacation pay provided to claimants is applicable the first workday after separation.   
 
Allows that a weekly claim may be reduced for a pension only if the employer made 100 percent 
of the contributions to the pension.   
 
Overpayments 
 
Broadens re-payment options for overpayments beyond cash or benefit offsets.  Removes 
provision to use benefit offsets when recouping on fraudulent overpayment. 
 
 
IOWA    IAC 871-24.3   ADOPTED:  October 2, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE: November 27, 2019 
Administration 
 
Provides that a claim for benefits is not valid until the identity is verified and an individual’s claim 
for benefits shall be locked until requested information is provided.  Requires the individual to 
provide required documents, one of which must have a Social Security Number, to be eligible for 
benefits.    The individual is eligible for benefits as of the Sunday of the week the identity is 
verified and all subsequent weeks provided there are no other outstanding issues. 
 
 
IOWA    IAC 871-25   ADOPTED:  October 16, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE: January 22, 2020 
Overpayments 
 
Amends documents sent to claimant to notify of overpayment and repayment requirements.   
 
Adds credit card payment as one of the repayment options. 
 
 
KENTUCKY   787 KAR 1:010  ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019 

EFFECTIVE:  January 4, 2019 
Administration 
 
Establishes the application and reporting requirements for employer accounts. 
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KENTUCKY   103 KAR 16:090  ADOPTED:  March 1, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  February 1, 2019 
Financing 
 
Explains the payroll apportionment factor applied by the state to payroll reporting of multi-state 
corporations. 
 
 
KENTUCKY   HB 392   ENACTED:  March 26, 2019 
    Act No. 146   EFFECTIVE:  June 26, 2019 
Administration 
 
Places the Office of Unemployment Insurance and the Unemployment Insurance Commission 
within the Department of Workforce Investment.  Changes all references to Division of 
Unemployment Insurance to Office of Unemployment Insurance. 
 
 
MAINE    SB 292    ENACTED:  May 16, 2019 
    Chapter 125   EFFECTIVE: September 19, 2019                                                                                                                    
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that use of marijuana while on duty or when reporting to work constitutes misconduct 
except when the use of marijuana is permitted by state law. 
 
 
MARYLAND     COMAR 09.32.01.05   ADOPTED:  October 30, 2018 
        EFFECTIVE:  March 11, 2019 
Financing 
 
Defines terms of employment on a continuous part-time basis, under which an employer will not 
be charged for benefits.   
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MASSACHUSETTS  430 CMR 6.05   ADOPTED:  April 5, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 5, 2019 
Overpayments 
 
Provides that a request for a waiver is granted if the individual is not at fault and recovery is 
considered against equity and good conscience or would defeat the purpose of benefits.  If the 
individual provides documentation showing current receipt of specified public benefits, eligibility 
for a waiver will be presumed. 
 
Requires a notice to the claimant regarding the right to request a waiver when any overpayment 
determination is made.  Provides that no collection efforts will be made until at least 15 days after 
the date the notice is mailed or delivered.  If a waiver request has been made, recoupment activity 
shall cease until the waiver request is considered and denied.   
 
 
MASSACHUSETTS  430 CMR 9.00   ADOPTED:  September 20, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  September 20, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Changes deadlines and updates definition of terms for claimants to receive up to 26 additional 
weeks of unemployment insurance benefits while in approved training.   
 
Adds the defined terms, “Application Period,” Approvable Training,” “Approved Training,” 
“Declining Occupation,” “HiSet (High School Equivalency Test) Program,” and “Work Search 
Area.”   
 
Defines “Work Search Area” as “One or more economically integrated geographic units within 
reasonable traveling distance for job seeking and commuting.”   
 
 
MASSACHUSETTS    454 CMR 30.00   ADOPTED:  April 19, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 19, 2019 
Financing 
 
Creates a new rule for Professional Employer Organizations (PEOs) that provides definitions, 
establishes registration and application requirements, and requires an annual registration fee of 
$500.  Requires PEOs to report and pay all required contributions for client employers. 
 
"Professional employer organization", or  "PEO", shall include other terms such as "staff leasing 
company", "registered staff leasing company", "employee leasing company", "administrative 
employer" or other name. 
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MICHIGAN    ERO 2019-3   ENACTED:  August 11, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  August 11, 2019 
Administration 
 
Creates the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity. Transfers the Unemployment 
Insurance Agency to the newly created department. 
 
Appeals 
 
Creates the Unemployment Insurance Appeals Commission and outlines the responsibilities of the 
commission.  Changes statutory references from Michigan Employment Security Board of Review 
to the Appeals Commission.   
 
Requires that the Unemployment Insurance Agency be a party to any judicial action involving an 
order or decision of the Appeals Commission or an administrative law judge. 
 
 
MICHIGAN    ERO 2019-6   ENACTED:  February 20, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 22, 2019 
 
Appeals 
 
Creates the Michigan Office of Administrative Hearings and Rules (MOAHR), inside the 
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.  The MOAHR handles first level Unemployment 
Insurance determination appeals.   
 
 
MICHIGAN    HB 4336   ENACTED:  December 20, 2019 
    Act No. 156   EFFECTIVE: December 20, 2019                                                                                                                    
Administration 
 
Requires state agencies to allow access to confidential unemployment compensation information 
by the Auditor General for audit purposes and defines process for access. 
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MINNESOTA  HB 2a    ENACTED:  May 30, 2019 
    Chapter 7   EFFECTIVE: October 1, 2019         
Coverage 
 
Defines covered employment based in Minnesota if during the calendar quarter: 

• 50 percent or more of the employment performed, based on the hours worked, is in 
Minnesota; 

• if the worker resides in Minnesota 50 percent or more of the calendar quarter and some of 
the work is performed in Minnesota;   

• work performed outside the United States for an American employer whose principal place 
of business is located in Minnesota; or  

• work is performed in navigable waters on a vessel that is controlled in Minnesota. 
 
Provides that employment by a foreign college or university student working on a seasonal or 
temporary basis under the J-1 visa summer work travel program is not covered employment. 
 
Adds service for an employer under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act, including those 
provided by an agent-driver or commission-driver delivering various services and service by 
certain traveling or city sales individuals, to the definition of employment. 
 
Financing 
 
Excludes employers assigned a maximum experience rating plus the applicable base tax rate from 
the reduction of future taxes provided when the trust fund balance is four percent or more above 
the average high cost multiple of 1.0.  Provides that a successor employer must receive the unused 
portion of the predecessor’s rate reduction equal to that portion of the experience rating history 
transferred.  
 
Provides that interest is not assessed on the unpaid interest of past due amounts owed by an 
employer.   
 
Provides that if the employer was relieved of charges because the individual quit for good cause or 
was discharged for misconduct and the employer later re-hires the individual, non-charging 
continues only until the individual is rehired. 
 

Overpayments 

In the case of an overpayment penalty determination, provides that interest is assessed at the rate of 
one percent per month or any part of a month; interest is not assessed on unpaid interest. 
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MINNESOTA   HB 90    ENACTED:  May 22, 2019 
    Chapter 60   EFFECTIVE:  August 1, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that an assisted living facility is not liable for unemployment benefits if an employee is 
terminated based on a confirmed conviction for disqualifying behavior found during the 
background check process. 
 
 
MISSISSIPPI   SB 2133    ENACTED:  April 3, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 3, 2019 
Administration 
 
Reenacts, through July 1, 2023, sections of the Mississippi unemployment compensation law due 
for repeal on July 1, 2019.   
 
Transfers the powers and responsibilities of the Mississippi Employment Security Commission to 
the Mississippi Department of Employment Security. 
 
Extensions and Special Programs  
 
The Self-Employment Assistance (SEA) program, slated for repeal on July 1, 2019, was not 
reenacted. 
 
 
MISSOURI    S 90    ENACTED:  July 9, 2019 
    RSMo 288   EFFECTIVE:  August 28, 2019 
Administrative 
 
Provides that any employing unit with at least 50 employees are required to report quarterly wage 
information electronically in a format prescribed by the division.  Allows for a good cause waiver.  
 
Makes electronic transmission the standard method for communication between the division, 
employers, and claimants, unless an alternative method is requested.  Makes the date of 
transmission the official date of notification.   
 

Nonmonetary Eligibility 

Defines the minimum number of required work search contacts as three, unless the deputy directs 
otherwise. 
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MONTANA   ARM 24.11   ADOPTED:  December 11, 2018  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2019 
Administrative 
 
Provides that employers with 20 or more employees are required to file quarterly wage reports 
electronically. 
  
Coverage 
 
Excludes service performed by any of the following from the definition of employment: a sole 
proprietor's spouse; a sole proprietor's dependent; or a dependent who is claimed as an exemption 
by a person who is in partnership with their spouse. 
 
Provides that service performed by a dependent of one partner in a partnership who cannot be 
claimed as a dependent by all partners in a partnership is included in the definition of employment. 
 
Financing 
 
Provides that in the case of partial transfer of the trade or business, the portion of the experience-
rating record transferred from the predecessor employer to the successor must be determined with 
the ratio of the portion of the payroll transferred to the successor to the total payroll that the 
predecessor employer would have had during that same period, had the transfer not occurred. 
 
Allows for a tax payment to be made by cash, check, money order, automated clearing house 
(ACH) debit, or credit card. 
 

MONTANA    HB 67    ENACTED:  February 28, 2019 
    Chapter 27   EFFECTIVE:  February 28, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Increases the amount from six weeks to 180 days under which an individual is not disqualified for 
benefits if the individual leaves employment because of being ordered to military service for this 
period of time. 
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MONTANA    HB 658   ENACTED:  May 9, 2019 
    Chapter 415   EFFECTIVE: July 1, 2019                                                                                                                    
Administration 
 
Provides that the Department of Health and Human Services may conduct quarterly audits of 
participants under the state Health and Economic Livelihood Partnership Act program by 
requesting records to verify income and participation in employment or reemployment activities 
from the Montana Labor and Industry Department. 
 
 
MONTANA    SB 74    ENACTED:  May 3, 2019 
    Chapter 287   EFFECTIVE:  May 3, 2019 
Administration 
 
Requires Department of Labor and Industry to conduct a criminal background check on any 
personnel who have direct access to Federal tax information as a result of the Department’s 
participation in Federal offset programs. 
 
 
MONTANA    SB 77    ENACTED:  March 7, 2019 
    Chapter 51   EFFECTIVE:  March 7, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes a technical correction by deleting a provision related to the amount of federal income tax 
withheld from unemployment compensation. 
 
 
MONTANA    SB 305    ENACTED:  May 1, 2019 
    Chapter 240   EFFECTIVE:  May 1, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Provides that one of the three members of the unemployment insurance appeals board must be 
from the private business sector who owns or is employed by an entity with more than ten 
employees. 
 
 
NEBRASKA   222 NAC Chapters 9-24 ADOPTED:  April 16, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  April 10, 2019 
Financing 
 
Repeals the employer contribution rates for the years 1990 through 2005. 
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NEBRASKA    LB 359   ENACTED:  March 7, 2019 
    NRS 48-649   EFFECTIVE:  September 7, 2019 
Financing 
 
Makes changes to how the state’s reserve ratio is calculated: 

• Adds that contributions that are deposited annually should be factored into the reserve ratio 
calculation.   

• Deletes the subtraction of outstanding obligations from the calculation of the reserve ratio. 
 
Adds that the Commissioner may adjust to a lower scheduled yield factor if the reserve ratio is 
calculated at 1.00 or greater. 
 
 
NEBRASKA    LB 428   ENACTED:  May 1, 2019 
    NRS 48-648   EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Financing 
 
Changes taxable wage base for employers with the maximum experience factor rating from $9,000 
to $24,000. 
 
 
NEBRASKA     220 NAC Chapter 1  ADOPTED:  April 16, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 10, 2019 
Administration 
 
Makes technical changes to the regulations pertaining to filing of quarterly combined tax and wage 
reports. 
 
NEBRASKA  20 NAC Chapter 3, 10, 12, 15 ADOPTED:  April 5, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 10, 2019 
Administration 
 
Repeals regulations that are obsolete or cited in state law. 
 
 
NEBRASKA    223 NAC Chapter 1-5  ADOPTED:  April 12, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 12, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Repeals regulations that are obsolete.  Defers to the Model Rules adopted by the Attorney General 
for regulations and procedures governing declaratory orders for administrative tax hearings. 
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NEBRASKA    225 NAC Chapter 1  ADOPTED:  April 5, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 10, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Remove reference to the 2011 implementation date related to the approval of benefits for 
individuals participating in training. 
 
 
NEBRASKA    220 NAC Chapter 1  ADOPTED:  April 16, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  April 10, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that an employer with a positive account balance who is eligible for experience rating and 
has no delinquent taxes is eligible to make an annual contribution payment, provided they report 
the hours worked by its employees on its quarter wage reports.   
 
 
NEVADA   NAC 612.270   ADOPTED:  December 17, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Financing 
 
Provides the contribution rate schedule for calendar year 2020. 
 
 
NEVADA   SB 493    ENACTED:  June 8, 2019 
    NRS 607, 608, 612, 616 EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Creates a “Misclassification Task Force” across state agencies to investigate employers that 
misclassify employees as independent contractors with the authority to investigate and impose 
penalties on employers that misclassify workers.  Establishes rules for determining independent 
contractor status for workers using the ABC test. 
 
 
NEW HAMPSHIRE    Emp. 501.11, .12   ADOPTED:  September 12, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  August 22, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Adds to existing provision for claimants to report to employment services that an individual with a 
reasonable assurance of returning to work with their employer in fewer than four weeks is exempt 
from actively seeking work but must still attend a benefits orientation session. Identifies factors to 
be considered in determining whether there is a guarantee of employment.   
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NEW HAMPSHIRE  HB 4    ENACTED:  September 26, 2019 
    Ch346:185 and 393  EFFECTIVE 1: January 1, 2020 
        EFFECTIVE 2: September 26, 2019 
Financing 
 
Decreases the amount of employer contributions to the administrative fund from 2/10 of one 
percent to 2/5 of one percent of total contributions. 
 
Changes the cap on employer contributions to the administrative fund from $2,000,000 annually to 
$6,000,000 annually.   
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides for individual to limit availability to part-time work if the claim is based on wages earned 
in part-time work. 
 
Provides exemption from work search requirement if the individual can provide evidence of a 
definite date to return to work within 11 weeks of their initial separation. 
 
 
NEW HAMPSHIRE  SB 16    ENACTED:  May 10, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-18  EFFECTIVE:  May 10, 2019 
Administration 
 
Extends the effective date for participation in the Wage Record Interchange System (WRIS) or 
other similar system to 2020 for purposes defined in the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity 
Act (WIOA) or the Wagner-Peyser Act. 
 
 
NEW HAMPSHIRE  SB 62    ENACTED:  July 12, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-227  EFFECTIVE:  July 12, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides exemption from work search requirement if the individual can provide evidence of a 
definite date to return to work within nine weeks of their initial separation. 
* NOTE: NH SB 62 was later superseded by HB 4 noted above.  
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NEW JERSEY  NJAC 12:15   ADOPTED:  November 19, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  December 16, 2019 
Financing 
 
Increases the taxable wage base from the first $34,400 to the first $35,300 of wages earned by an 
employee. 
Decreases the contribution rate for governmental entities and instrumentalities electing to pay 
contributions from seven-tenths to six-tenths. 
 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Increases the maximum WBA from $667 to $713, effective for benefit years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2020. 
 
Increases the amount an individual must earn for 20 base weeks to establish a claim from $172 to 
$200 per week for calendar year 2020. 
 
Increases the alternative earnings amount for establishing eligibility from $8,600 to $10,000, 
effective for benefit years beginning on or after January 1, 2020.   
 
 
NEW JERSEY   SB 844    ENACTED:  June 17, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-126  EFFECTIVE:  June 17, 2020 
 
Temporary Disability Insurance 
 
Provides that an individual recovering from a disability who is able to return to work on a reduced 
basis and who is permitted by the employer to return to work on a reduced basis may be eligible 
for a partial benefit amount.   
 
If the employer does not allow the individual to return to work on a reduced basis, the individual 
shall remain eligible for benefits.  
 
 
NEW JERSEY   SB 1887   ENACTED:  August 23, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-252  EFFECTIVE:  August 23, 2020 
Administrative 
 
Makes changes to the funding amount and expiration date for a pilot program designed to assist the 
unemployed and the underemployed with skills gaps and to obtain industry-valued credentials. 
 
Adds the term “Soft Skills” to the program. 
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NEW JERSEY   SB 2518   ENACTED:  January 31, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-7  EFFECTIVE:  January 31, 2019 
Financing 
 
Provides that an out-of-state business performing work on critical infrastructure related to a 
disaster or an emergency is not required to register, file or report New Jersey tax, employer 
withholding or unemployment insurance taxes if the employer is licensed in the home state.  
 
 
NEW JERSEY   SB 2557   ENACTED:  July 9, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-158  EFFECTIVE:  July 9, 2020 
Administrative 
 
Allows the New Jersey Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development to issue a stop work 
order to cease all business operations at every site when violations, including failure to comply 
with contributions, are found to have occurred.   
 
Allows the commissioner to assess a civil penalty of $5,000 per day against an employer for each 
day that it conducts business operation that are in violation of the stop-work order. 
 
 
NEW MEXICO  NMAC 11.3.300  ADOPTED:  January 29, 2019  
        EFFECTIVE:  January 9, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Permits the New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions to waive work search requirements 
for claimants in temporary lay-off status due to a government furlough or shutdown. 
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NEW MEXICO  NMAC 11.3.100, .300, .400 ADOPTED:  October 29, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE: October 29, 2019 
Administration 
 
Changes the name of the unemployment compensation agency from Employment Security 
Division to Unemployment Insurance Division.   
 
Clarifies electronic communication with the Division.   
 
Requires electronic filing for quarterly wage reports and contributions by employers and third 
party administrators.   
 
Provides that the department will send a notice and a fact-finding questionnaire to all base period 
employers when a claim is filed.  Employers must respond through their online account. 
 
A timely response to a request for additional information on a claim is changed from 10 days to 
two business days.   
 
The employer must establish good cause for failing to respond timely before an appeal may be 
heard.   
 
Provides that when an initial claim determination is reversed, the employer may be liable for 
benefit charges incurred to the date of disqualification if the employer or employer’s agent has 
demonstrated a pattern of failing to respond timely or adequately.  Defines a pattern as a failure to 
respond timely or adequately to five claims, or more at the secretary’s discretion, within a calendar 
year.  An inadequate response is defined as a failure to provide relevant information that was 
reasonably available at the time of the request.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    
Coverage 

 
Requires employers to keep records, such as a general ledger or check register, to verify that all 
workers providing services to the employer are properly classified as employees or independent 
contractors. Requires random electronic audits of employer records to ensure proper employee 
classification.   
 
Requires employers to provide accurate work records at any reasonable time and as often as 
necessary for effective administration of the unemployment compensation law. 
 
Provides that the department determines whether an individual is considered an independent 
contractor using the ABC test.        
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Financing 

 
Defines “payment in lieu of contributions”.  
 
Requires the successor employer to assume liability for the outstanding balance due for any 
contributions, interest and penalties at the time of transfer of ownership.            
 
Provides that employer underpayments for outstanding debt shall be applied from the oldest to the 
newest debt. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

Amends work search provisions relating to unions by requiring the individual to be a member in 
good standing and that the hiring hall or referral hall is actively seeking to place members in 
employment.   
 
Requires the individual to provide sufficient information to verify work search efforts.  A specific 
job number or requisition number for the job application will be considered sufficient to verify the 
contact. 
 
Provides that if an individual does not participate in required reemployment services, benefits shall 
be denied beginning the week of non-participation. 
 
 
NEW MEXICO  NMAC 11.3.500  ADOPTED:  October 29, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  October 29, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Requires the hearing notice to include a statement notifying the parties of their responsibilities and 
the requirements to participate in a hearing. 
 
Provides that the Department of Workforce Solutions may file a motion for compliance in district 
court if a party fails to respond to a subpoena.  
 
Removes the provision that allowed payment of witness fees and mileage to an individual based on 
the individual’s situation. 
 
Provides that a copy of the typed transcript of an appeal hearing may be made available without 
charge to parties of an appeal pending before district court. 
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NEW MEXICO  HB 431   ENACTED:  April 4, 2019 
    Chapter 238   EFFECTIVE:  June 14, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Requires superintendent to serve written notice, on or before 15 days prior to the last day of the 
school year, of intention not to reemploy for the next school year.  Absent such notice, employee 
shall assume notice of reemployment. 
 
 
NEW YORK    AB 2156   ENACTED:  November 8, 2019 
    Chapter 447   EFFECTIVE: November 8, 2019                                                                                                                    
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Extends the expiration date for the Self-Employment Assistance (SEA) program from December 7, 
2019 to December 7, 2021. 
 
 
NEW YORK    AB 8035   ENACTED:  December 20, 2019 
    Chapter 701   EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Provides that when one or more entities exercise supervision, direction and control, the entity that 
pays an individual is that individual’s employer, excluding payroll agencies.   
 
 
NEW YORK    AB 8419   ENACTED:  July 17, 2019 
    Chapter 105   EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Adds farm laborers to the list of workers considered “employees” for unemployment insurance 
purposes, except for those working under an H-2A worker visas. 
 
 
NORTH CAROLINA SB 498    ENACTED:  August 1, 2019 
    Chapter 2019-187  EFFECTIVE: August 1, 2019         
Financing 
 
Excludes from the definition of employment service performed by a nonresident employee for a 
nonresident business performing disaster-related work during a disaster response period at the 
request of a critical infrastructure company. 
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OHIO     HB 62    ENACTED:  April 3, 2019 
    Chapter 4141.01  EFFECTIVE:  July 3, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Adds provision to determine whether a worker is an employee or independent contractor of a 
motor carrier transportation hiring entity. 
 
 
OHIO     OAC 5101:12-1  ADOPTED:  January 29, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  February 11, 2019 
Administration 
 
Renews the child support enforcement agency rule which includes withholding of unemployment 
compensation for the payment of child support. 
 
 
OHIO     OAC 4141-3-07  ADOPTED:  January 14, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  January 28, 2019 
Financing 
  
Requires a professional employer organization (PEO) to keep separate subaccounts for each client 
employer. 
 
OHIO     OAC 4146-17-01  ADOPTED:  February 26, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  March 11, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Reduces the number of days required to request records from the review commission from ten to 
five. 
 
 
OHIO     OAC 4141-30-01  ADOPTED:  March 15, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  March 28, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Amends language stating that payments made to employees for separation from employment are 
deemed remuneration in the form of separation pay and deducted from benefits. 
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OHIO     OAC 4141-21-01  ADOPTED:  May 9, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 19, 2019 
Administration 
 
Requires that the employer’s state unemployment tax account number be provided on an 
application for reconsideration of the employer’s liability determination. 
 
 
OKLAHOMA    OAC 240:1-3-4  ADOPTED:  May 28, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  July 25, 2019 
Administration 
 
Amends timelines for responding to a request for documents.   
 
 
OKLAHOMA    OAC 240:10   ADOPTED:  May 28, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  July 25, 2019 
Administration 
 
 
Makes the use of a debit card, provided by a state-selected vendor, as the primary and default 
delivery method of UI benefits.   
 
Allows claimants the option to receive benefits through direct deposit, claimant must contact the 
state-selected vendor to receive benefits through direct deposit. 
 
Requires employers to submit contributions and wage reports electronically through the Employer 
Portal, or on a paper form if an exception has been granted. 
 
Appeals 
 
Includes hearings concerning a protest made by a debtor through the procedures of the Treasury 
Offset Program under the jurisdiction of the Assessment Board. 
 
Requires delivery of all documents and electronically recorded or stored evidence to the 
Assessment Board or the Appeal Tribunal at least five days before the date of the hearing.  
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Financing  

 
Defines “substantially common control”, “substantially common management”, and “substantially 
common ownership” when evaluating the relationship with a predecessor account. 
Provides that if a payment is received to repay indebtedness in a delinquent taxpayer account, and 
there is an amount owing for the OESC Technology Reinvestment Apportionment, the payment 
will first be applied to the amount owing for the OESC Technology Reinvestment Apportionment. 
The remainder of the payment shall be applied pursuant to the rule relating to regular tax 
indebtedness. 
 
Adds trustees to the list of parties required to include a Social Security Number on the application 
for an unemployment insurance tax account number. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 
Removes the definition of profiling. 
 
Defines Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessment (RESEA), and the RESEA Selection 
process. 
 
Amends definition of temporary layoff by providing that a temporary layoff must be requested in 
writing by the employer and provide a specific recall date within eight weeks of the cessation of 
work or employment. An extension of the recall date may be requested and shall not exceed four 
additional weeks. 
 
Defines a Federal temporary layoff to mean a short-term cessation of work or employment 
involving a Federal agency or contractor in which employees refrain from seeking employment 
elsewhere as part of their terms of employment.  No recall date is required and provisions on 
reimbursed pay or back pay apply. 
 
Requires two work search contacts each week and provides that the number of contacts may be 
increased based on the circumstances of each individual.  Eliminates the following as acceptable 
work search activities: presentation in a manner to encourage employment consideration, search of 
print media, online media, and social networks for employers seeking workers, and self-assessment 
of skills and abilities. 
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OKLAHOMA  HB 1095               ENACTED:  May 13, 2019 
    Chapter 342               EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Provides that services performed by an individual for wages shall be deemed to be employment if 
the services are performed by the individual in an employer-employee relationship as determined 
by the 20-factor test used by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).   
 
Provides that the Oklahoma Employee Security Commission shall have the exclusive authority to 
determine whether an individual is an independent contractor or an employee for purposes of the 
Employment Security Act. 
 
 
OKLAHOMA  SB 335     ENACTED:  April 30, 2019 
    Chapter 251    EFFECTIVE:  April 30, 2019 
Administration 
 
 
Changes reference to Wage Record Interchange System (WRIS) to State Wage Interchange 
System (SWIS). 
 
Appeals 
 
Provides that all time periods provided for reviews, redeterminations, and appeals may be waived 
for good cause shown up to one year after the date of the determination or redetermination. 
 
Increases from 14 days to 20 days the time limit for employer to file a written objection to a 
determination of contribution rate.   
 
Increases from 14 days to 20 days the time limit for employer to file a written protest to 
determination as to whether the employer is entitled to relief of benefit charges. 
 
Increases from 14 days to 20 days the time limit for employer to appeal a redetermination of 
benefits.  
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 
Replaces reference to profiling system with Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessment 
(RESEA) selection.   
 
Expands reemployment services to include all ex-military service claimants. 
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OKLAHOMA  SB 988    ENACTED:  April 25, 2019 
    Chapter 179   EFFECTIVE:  April 25, 2019 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Repeals the provisions related to eligibility between terms for employees of educational service 
contractors. 
 
 
OREGON    OAR 471-010-0125  ADOPTED:  May 3, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 3, 2019 
Administration 
 
Exempts the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) from the audit requirements related to agreements to 
share confidential information. 
 
 
OREGON     OAR 471-041   ADOPTED:  May 13, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  May 13, 2019 
Appeals 
 
Makes technical changes to the review process related to electronic filing.  
 
Provides that an application for review by a claimant or employer that failed to appear at a hearing 
shall be treated as a request to reopen the hearing.  If the request for hearing was not dismissed, 
then it will be treated as an application for review under certain circumstances.  
 
Defines the filing date based on method of submission.   
 
Provides that a late application for review is dismissed unless the application provides a written 
statement of the circumstances that prevented a timely filing. 
 
Provides circumstances under which an extension of time to submit a written argument is 
permitted.  Includes definition of good cause and requires notification to all parties when as 
extension request is allowed. 
 
Requires notification to the parties in a decision if additional evidence is admitted to the hearing 
record. 
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OREGON     OAR 471-030-0036  ADOPTED:  December 6, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  December 8, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Removes the requirement that claimants who reside in Canada must be authorized to work in the 
United States to qualify for benefits. 
 
 
OREGON     OAR 471-030-0235  ADOPTED:  December 6, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  December 8, 2019 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Codifies existing policies and procedures related to the Self-Employment Assistance (SEA) 
program. 
 
 
OREGON     OAR 471-030-0035  ADOPTED:  December 6, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  December 8, 2019 
Administration 
 
Adds that job listings provided by validated employers may be provided immediately to customers.  
This includes, but is not limited to, unemployment insurance claimants. 
 
 
OREGON     OAR 471-030-0058  ADOPTED:  December 6, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  December 8, 2019 
Overpayments 
 
Allows for “federal non-tax payments” to be seized to satisfy unemployment insurance 
compensation debts. 
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OREGON   HB 2660   ENACTED:  June 17, 2019 
    Chapter 407   EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that provisions related to eligibility for benefits between successive academic terms do 
not apply to individuals providing services in the operation or maintenance of facilities and 
janitorial services for an educational institution, effective for weeks beginning on or after January 
1, 2020. 
 
Requires educational service, state and political subdivision employers, to provide information on 
unemployment insurance eligibility provided by the Employment Department.  Prohibits the 
employer from informing employees that they are ineligible for benefits unless the Department has 
made that determination.   
 
Any provision amended by this Act that is determined not to conform to Federal law shall no 
longer be in effect. 
 
 
OREGON   HB 3120   ENACTED:  May 24, 2019 
    Chapter 168   EFFECTIVE: May 24, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that an individual is not disqualified for voluntarily leaving work without good cause, 
failure to apply for suitable work, or accept suitable work if the individual, or a member of the 
individual’s family, is the victim of  intimidation or could become the victim of intimidation.  
 
 
PENNSYLYVANIA    4PA: 601-607   ADOPTED:  March 15, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  March 28, 2019 
Administration 
 
Adopts temporary regulations because of the transfer of merit system enforcement from State Civil 
Service to the Office of Administration.  Temporary regulations expire March 16, 2020. 
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RHODE ISLAND    260-RICR-40-05-1  ADOPTED:  August 7, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  August 7, 2019 
Temporary Disability Insurance 
 
Requires three employer contacts per week for individuals receiving extended benefits and 
specifies the information for the work search record, and requires that the record be kept for one 
after the claim. 
 
Increases the number of weeks during a temporary layoff for a work search exemption from eight 
weeks to 12 weeks 
 
Extensions and Special Programs 
 
Removes prohibition to making modifications on a Work Share (STC) plan within the first 30 
days, instead subjecting modifications to the approval of the director. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Requires that claimant includes a copy of the confirmation number or response from an employer 
if available, as part of the work search record. 
 
Increases the number of weeks during a temporary layoff for a work search exemption from eight 
weeks to 12 weeks. 
 
Provides that an individual who fails to report or provide requested information is denied benefits 
for the week of the failure and until the individual complies unless good cause is established. 
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SOUTH CAROLINA HB 4000   ENACTED:  June 25, 2019 
    Chapter 289   EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Administration 
 
Requires Department of Employment and Workforce to provide and release to the public via its 
agency website a report of all aggregate amounts of taxes, fees, and payments that were charged, 
collected, and paid in the prior fiscal year. 
 
Requires Department of Employment and Workforce to enter into data sharing agreements with 
eligible training providers for Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) performance 
accountability purposes.  Data sharing must meet Federal confidentiality requirements at 20 CFR 
Part 603.    
 
Financing 

 
Requires any interest assessment funds received by the Interest Assessment Fund to be transferred 
to the Unemployment Compensation Fund for the current fiscal year and upon final repayment of 
all Title XII advances from the Federal Unemployment Account received beginning in December 
2008. 
 
 
SOUTH DAKOTA  SDLRC 47:06   ADOPTED:  October 29, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  October 29, 2019 
Administration 
 
Replaces references to “unemployment compensation” with “reemployment assistance”.  Replaces 
reference to “unemployment benefit check” with “benefit payment”. 
 
 
SOUTH DAKOTA  HB 1034   ENACTED:  March 20, 2019 
    Chapter 217   EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Financing 
 
Effective calendar year 2020, adjusts the reserve ratio schedule range from 0.00 percent to 9.30 
percent, the previous maximum value was 9.35 percent. 
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SOUTH DAKOTA  HB 1035   ENACTED:  March 20, 2019 
    Chapter 216   EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2020 
Administration 
 
Changes the name of the Unemployment Insurance program to the Reemployment Assistance 
program and defines reemployment assistance as cash benefits payable to an individual with 
respect to the individual’s unemployment. 
 
 
TENNESSEE   HB 539    ENACTED:  May 10, 2019 
    Chapter 337    EFFECTIVE:  January 1, 2020 
Coverage 
 
Amends the definition of included service under employment to mean service performed by an 
individual for an employer if the services performed by the individual qualify as an employer-
employee relationship with the employer based upon consideration of the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) 20-factor test.   
 
Excludes from coverage services performed by an individual who provides services as a leased-
operator or an owner-operator of a motor vehicle or vehicles under contract to a common carrier 
conducting an interstate business while engaged in interstate commerce, regardless of whether the 
common law relationship of master and servant exists. 
 
States legislative intent that no elected official is eligible for benefits based upon service as an 
elected official. 
 
 
TENNESSEE   SB 122     ENACTED:  May 8, 2019 
    Chapter 289    EFFECTIVE:  May 8, 2019 
Administration 
 
Extends the authority of the State Unemployment Compensation Advisory Council to June 30, 
2023. 
 
 



 

54 

 

TEXAS   40 TAC 20.815.C.815.134             ADOPTED:  April 9, 2019  
                    EFFECTIVE:  April 29, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Defines “digital network”, “marketplace platform”, and “marketplace contractor”. 
 
Provides for conditions under which a marketplace contractor shall be treated as an independent 
contractor rather than an employee. 
 
Provides that this employment status analysis does not apply to required coverage and recognizes 
that when the marketplace platform is a state or local governmental entity, not-for-profit 
organization, or Indian tribe, the services must be covered. 
 
 
UTAH     R994-403-109B                ADOPTED:  February 1, 2019 
                     EFFECTIVE:  March 31, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that an individual who fails to participate in required reemployment services without 
good cause is ineligible for benefits beginning with the week in which the failure occurred and 
continuing until the week the individual participates in the required reemployment service. 
 
 
UTAH      R994-403                  ADOPTED:  May 15, 2019 
                      EFFECTIVE:  May 1, 2019 
Administration 
 
Eliminates telephone claims filing and provides that individuals may reopen a claim by completing 
the application to reopen at the Department’s website, or as otherwise instructed by the 
Department. 
 
 
UTAH      R994-305-801                 ADOPTED:  May 15, 2019 
                     EFFECTIVE:  July 1, 2019 
Administration 
 
Requires employers to submit wage reports on the Department’s website. 
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VERMONT   Uncodified             ADOPTED:  October 14, 2019 
                  EFFECTIVE:  October 01, 2019 
Administration 
 
Provides that the Board may initiate rulemaking in response to a petition by five or more persons. 
 
Requires an employer to obtain and confidentially maintain the Social Security Number of each 
worker performing services. 
 
Requires employers to file required reports and pay amounts due electronically, unless the 
employer shows a hardship. 
 
Financing 

 
Prohibits a recomputation of an employer’s experience rating if the amount of wages in a prior rate 
year changes due to an assessment of contributions or an administrative determination. 
 
Provides that if an employer fails to comply with reporting requirements or fails to file a corrected 
or sufficient report within 30 days, the Commissioner will determine the amount of contribution 
due based on information available. 
 
Allows for the Commissioner to approve, decline, or terminate an employer’s election of 
reimbursement if doing so would be in the best interest of the trust fund.   
 
Changes the penalties and debarment period for an employer for each misclassified employee: 

• from $100 to $500 for an initial violation; 
• from $500 for a second penalty within three years of previous violation to $1000 for a 

second penalty within six years of previous violation; and 
• a third violation within ten years (previously three) will receive a $5,000 penalty. 

 
Monetary Entitlement 
 
Provides that a claim may be withdrawn, unless a benefit has been paid, if the Commissioner 
determines that doing so is in the best interest of justice and due process. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Requires an individual to reside and be physically located within the United States or Canada to 
receive benefits.  
 
Defines circumstances under which training programs may be approved for an individual who does 
not meet certain eligibility conditions. 
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U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS  BB 90    ENACTED:   October 6, 2019 
    Chapter 8209   EFFECTIVE:  October 6, 2019 
Coverage 
 
Updates the definition of an employer. 
 
Financing 
 
Establishes a new experience rating system in 2021 with a transition period in 2020.  The Payroll 
Variation System will replace that of the Reserve Ratio System. 
 
 
WASHINGTON   WAC 192-140-090  ADOPTED:  June 4, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  July 22, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Provides that an individual who fails to schedule an appointment for reemployment services or 
participate in reemployment services by the deadline in a written directive is ineligible for benefits 
the week of the occurrence unless there is justifiable cause. 
 
 
WASHINGTON  SB 5398   ENACTED:  April 17, 2019 
    Chapter 48   EFFECTIVE:  July 28, 2019 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
 
Adds a waiver to waiting week and work search requirements for electrical apprentices that seek 
work through a referral system. 
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WISCONSIN     DWD 100- 150  ADOPTED:  May 6, 2019 
        EFFECTIVE:  June 1, 2019 
Administration 
 
Made technical changes to the text of the rule.   
 
Changes the requirement to report to the state directory of new hires employees who return to 
work after an unpaid absence from 90 days to 60 days. 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 

 
Defines good cause for not meeting a work search requirement. 
 
Changes the suitable work requirement for an individual returning to work after an academic break 
between terms from 80 percent to 90 percent of the amount earned in the preceding academic term. 
 
Appeals 
 
Defines that the number of days for a hearing notice to be provided as calendar days.  
 
Reduces the time that an appeal tribunal must wait from the start of the scheduled time for a 
hearing from 15 minutes to 10 minutes to dismiss the appeal or proceed with the hearing. 
 
  



 

58 

 

Index by Topic 
 
 
Administration 
   Arkansas 
   California    
   Delaware  
   Georgia  
   Idaho 
   Illinois 
   Indiana 
   Iowa 
   Kentucky 
   Michigan 
   Mississippi 
   Missouri 
   Montana 
   Nebraska 

New Hampshire 
New Jersey 
New Mexico 

   Ohio 
   Oklahoma 
   Oregon 
   Pennsylvania 
   Rhode Island 
   South Carolina 
   South Dakota 
   Tennessee 
   Utah 
   Vermont 
   Wisconsin  
 
 
Appeals 

Alabama 
Colorado 
Florida 
Idaho 
Illinois 
Indiana 
Michigan  

 

Appeals (continued) 
Montana 
Nebraska 
New Mexico 
Ohio 
Oklahoma 
Oregon 
Wisconsin 
 
 

Coverage 
   Arkansas  
   California    
   Illinois 
   Indiana 
   Kentucky 
   Minnesota 
   Montana 
   Nevada 
   New Mexico 
   New York 
   Ohio 
   Oklahoma 
   Tennessee 
   Texas 
   Virgin Island 
 
 
Extensions and Special Programs 

Mississippi 
New York 
Oregon 
Rhode Island 
 
 

Financing 
   Alabama 
   Arkansas 
   Delaware 

  



 

59 

 

Financing (continued)    
Florida 

   Illinois 
   Indiana 
   Kentucky 
   Maryland 
   Massachusetts 
   Minnesota 
   Montana 
   Nebraska 
   Nevada 

New Hampshire 
New Jersey 
New Mexico 

 North Carolina 
 Ohio 
 Oklahoma 
 South Carolina 
 South Dakota 
 Vermont 
 Virgin Island 
 
 

Monetary Entitlement 
   Alabama 
   Alaska 
   Arkansas 
   Delaware 
   District of Columbia 
   Georgia 
   Illinois 
   Indiana 
   New Jersey 
   Vermont 
 
 
Nonmonetary Eligibility 
   Alabama 
   Alaska 
   Arkansas 
   California 
   Florida 
   Idaho 

Nonmonetary Eligibility (continued)   
Illinois 

   Indiana 
   Iowa 
   Maine 
   Massachusetts 
   Missouri 

Montana 
Nebraska 
New Hampshire 
New Mexico 
Ohio 
Oklahoma 
Oregon 
Rhode Island 
Utah 
Vermont 
Washington 
Wisconsin 
 
 

Overpayments 
Arkansas 
Delaware 
Georgia 
Illinois 
Indiana 
Iowa 
Massachusetts 
Minnesota 
Oregon 
 
 

Temporary Disability Insurance 
   California 
   New Jersey 
   Rhode Island 
 


